EDHE 6064 Catalano: Title IX
Manuscript Collections related to Title IX
- Records of the 4-H All Stars, Virginia Chapter (RG 26/4/1)Founded in 1922, the Virginia 4-H All Stars are the highest honor for the Virginia 4-Hers, and membership is based on leadership, service, and activities. The records of the Virginia Chapter of the 4-H All Stars span the years 1964-2014. The collection includes minutes, correspondence, financial reports, bylaws and policies, membership rosters, and photographs. It also includes the organization's mission statement, constitution, and 75th anniversary materials. The collection also contains materials about the Interstate Order of 4-H All Stars and about the midwinter and summer conferences.
- Records of the Office of Academic Affairs (RG 5/1/2)This collection consists primarily of correspondence and records from the Office of Academic Affairs at Virginia Tech. The papers reflect the many changes at Virginia Tech as it became a university (approved by legislature on June 23, 1970) and as the roles of faculty and the participation of students within the university were defined. There also are materials relating to campus disorders and dissent during 1970 to 1971. Materials are from Leslie F. Malpass' tenure as Vice-President for Academic Affairs (1968-1974); from Alfred H. Krebs' tenure as director of Summer School, as Assistant Vice President of Academic Affairs under Malpass, and as acting Vice President for Academic Affairs from August 1974 until September 1975; and from Donald C. Darnton's tenure as Director of Special Programs, which also was under the Office of Academic Affairs.
- Records of the Office of the President T. Marshall Hahn, Jr. (RG 2/11)This collection contains primarily of correspondence concerning University matters, including letters to and from alumni, faculty, parents, and students. Correspondence with the Board of Visitors and government officials is also included in the collection. There is material concerning the Alumni Association, budget information, Higher Education Study Commission (1965), University Council, National and Southern Associations of State Universities and Land-grant Colleges, State Council of Higher Education in Virginia, Task Force for Innovative Approaches to Instruction (1973), Consortium for Continuing Higher Education in Northern Virginia (1973), civil rights, proposal for College of Veterinary Medicine (1974, Box 95, folders 3211-3215), and various University committees and commissions. There is a large amount of material dealing with student protests (1970-1971, see Boxes 45-47), including correspondence to and from parents, students, and the general public. The collection also includes copies of many of Hahn's speeches (1961-1973), such as "Statement on Need of a College of Veterinary Medicine in Virginia" and "Virginia in the Jet Age."
- Records of the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Office of the Vice President for Special Projects, Alfred Krebs (RG 5/1/2/1)The collection consists primarily of the correspondence and other materials of Alfred Krebs in his capacity as Vice President for Special Projects (1975-1976). The collection also includes materials from his period as Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs (1972-1975). His duties as Vice President for Special Projects included university financial functions, chairmanship of the Computer Committee, Systems Development, Institutional Research, and the coordination of the Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Programs. There are materials regarding such subjects as consulting projects, cases from the Judicial Review committee, the Telecommunication Committee, and the University Council. Correspondence and other documents detail the formation and management of the Computer Committtee, the creation and implementation of an Affirmative Action Plan,and procedures for implementing Title IX regulations.
- Warren Strother Collection (Ms2004-005)Collection contains official correspondence between Dr. T. Marshall Hahn and various Virginia Polytechnic Institute departments, 319 oral history interviews on cassette tapes, and 48 transcribed interviews. These materials focus on Dr. Hahn’s administration of VPI and were used to create a book entitled From VPI to State University: President T. Marshall Hahn, Jr. and the Transformation of Virginia Tech, 1962-1974 written by Warren Strother and Peter Wallenstein.
About Special Collections and University Archives
Special Collections and University Archives is currently open Monday-Friday from 8am to 5pm.
Appointments are not required, but strongly encouraged (**see below)
Appointments can be made by visiting the SCUA Seat Reservation page (instructions are included on this page)
Virtual reference help remains available at email@example.com or by phone at 540-231-6308
**By making an appointment, you will help us limit the number of researchers using our Reading Room at any one time for health and safety; guarantee you a seat at the requested time; and help us plan for your visit, for example, making sure the materials needed are on site and available.
Connect with us
Information for Visitors
Find us online
Our digital collections
Land Acknowledgement & Labor Recognition
Virginia Tech acknowledges that we live and work on the Tutelo / Monacan People’s homeland and we recognize their continued relationships with their lands and waterways. We further acknowledge that legislation and practices like the Morrill Act (1862) enabled the commonwealth of Virginia to finance and found Virginia Tech through the forced removal of Native Nations from their lands, both locally and in western territories.
We understand that honoring Native Peoples without explicit material commitments falls short of our institutional responsibilities. Through sustained, transparent, and meaningful engagement with the Tutelo / Monacan Peoples, and other Native Nations, we commit to changing the trajectory of Virginia Tech's history by increasing Indigenous student, staff, and faculty recruitment and retention, diversifying course offerings, and meeting the growing needs of all Virginia tribes and supporting their sovereignty.
We must also recognize that enslaved Black people generated revenue and resources used to establish Virginia Tech and were prohibited from attending until 1953. Through InclusiveVT, the institutional and individual commitment to Ut Prosim (that I may serve) in the spirit of community, diversity, and excellence, we commit to advancing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community.