Material Culture and Public Humanities: Videos and Images
The Southwest Virginia Digital Library is the premier resource for Virginia Tech, Appalachia, and state of Virginia digital image collections. Collection highlights include the Leonard J. Curries Slides and the permanent collection at the Taubman Museum of Art.
The Art & Architecture Library houses a collection of DVDS that are available for checkout. In addition, the University Libraries subscribes to a number of streaming video databases. For a full list of streaming databases click here.
The are many image collections available on through museums, universities, historical societies, etc. These types of collections will usually be higher resolution than images found on Google or Flickr. Remember, regardless of where you find an image, always check the usage permissions and cite the source.
The Art & Architecture Library houses a collection of approximately 500 architectural working drawings. Coverage ranges from local campus buildings to national airports, libraries, museums, and residences.
We are currently in the process of digitizing the architectural drawings collection. You can request access to digitized versions of the drawings by emailing Sarah Stanley (firstname.lastname@example.org). Some digitized drawings are also available on Artstor. Physical drawings do not circulate and must be used in the library between 9am - 5pm Monday through Friday.
The Art & Architecture Drawings Database allows you to search drawing records.
The List of Architectural Drawings provides a complete list of drawings. Use the tabs at the bottom to sort by Structure, Creator, or Location.
Other Resources for Drawings and Plans