Material Culture and Public Humanities: Additional Resources
Library Resources
- ARTbibliographies Modern from ProQuestARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960s-present.
- Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Clarivate AnalyticsArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature, books, and conference papers in the arts and humanities. It also includes citations that refer to or review books, works of art, music scores, and performances. You can search cited references. 1900-present.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuestDAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online is a gateway to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources (Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms) in one location. References are linked via Get VText.
Online Resources
- Google Arts & CultureStep inside must-see museums around the world.
- Library of Congress Digitized Collections
This link opens in a new window
The Library of Congress's digitized American historical materials are organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.
- Mutual ArtDiscover and follow over 300,000 artists and find exhibitions.
- Smithsonian Institution Digital LibraryThe Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.