Japanese Language and LIterature: Recommended

Overview for Chinese Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies from EBSCOhost
BAS indexes citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the social science and humanities aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asia. 1971-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies or on Asia as identified by the BAS staff are indexed as soon as they are published for immediate inclusion in BAS. In fact, the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount. Selected Asia-related citations from many other journals are also included when applicable. In addition, various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779).
Gale Ebooks
Gale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.

Recommended online resources

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 from Adam Matthew Digital
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for Japan provide digitized primary source material on Japan from the rise of Imperialism to post-war occupation. Content includes memoranda and minutes, reports, correspondence, maps, newspaper cuttings, and other printed material.
Meiji Japan from Adam Matthew Digital
- This link opens in a new window
From the collection of Edward Sylvester Morse who preserved the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.
Documents include diaries, sketches, correspondence, scrapbooks and records of publications and lectures. As one of the first Americans to live in Japan, Morse was one of the earliest and most important mediators between American and Asian societies.

T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach

Jennifer Nardine

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology

540-231-4073

Subjects: Humanities and performing arts, Languages and literatures

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2024 10:17 AM
Print Page