Christiansburg Industrial Institute Research Guide: External Resources

Christiansburg Institute Museum & Archives (CIMA)

• Website
• The John F. Banks Collection, 1910-1979 (Ms2020-01)
• The Gladys Sokolow Collection, 1900-2011 (Ms2020-02)
• The Amanda DeHart Collection, 1901-2010 (Ms2020-03)
• The School Annuals Collection, 1888-1925 (Ms2020-03)

Library of Virginia

• Website
• Correspondence and Subject Files of the Director of the Department of Historic Resources, 1966-2007 (Accession Number 43960, 45554, and 50423)
• The Deeds of Easement of the Virginia Dept. of Historic Resources, 1969-2010
• The Virginia War History Commission, 1915-1931 (Accession Number 37219, 28390, 33311, and 28057)

Montgomery County Circuit Court

• Montgomery County (VA) Chancery Causes, 1773-1912 (Index: 1773-001-1912-065, 1912-031)

National Archives and Records Administration (U.S.)

• Website
• Records of the National Park Service, 1785-2006 (Record Group 79)
  • Series: National Register of Historic Places and National Landmarks Program Records, 2013 - 2017
    • File Unit: National Register of Historic Places and National Historic Landmarks Program Records: Virginia

Swarthmore College, Friends Historical Library

• Website
• Friends Freedmen's Association Records (SFHL-RG4-024)

Virginia State University, Special Collections and Archives

• Website
• The Papers of Amanda E. DeHart, 1920, 1989 (Collection Number 1988-61)
• The Papers of John F. Banks, 1910-1959 (Collection Number 1985-34)

Christiansburg Institute

• Emancipation, Education, and the Black Freedom Movement
• Christiansburg Institute on Facebook

The Montgomery Museum

• Historic Christiansburg Walking Tour: Christiansburg Institute
• Truth & Reconciliation Coalition: African American Memory & Storyboard Project

ColorsVA Magazine

• Christiansburg Institute: Segregation, Integration, and the Gift of Education

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
X: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)