Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Christiansburg Industrial Institute Research Guide: Online Resources

This guide includes archival materials and other resources about Christiansburg Industrial Institute at Virginia Tech Special Collections and University Archives and beyond.

Online Resources

This section of the guide includes online resources ranging from digitized photographs of Christiansburg Industrial Institute and students to maps and oral histories.

ImageBase

For more digitized photos and other assorted documents, please check out the Christiansburg Institute section of ImageBase.

Below are just a few examples of the types of photos you may find there.

Typing classroom and students at Christiansburg Institute

Students in the Reading Room at Christiansburg Institute

Christiansburg Industrial Institute Campus in 1934

Oral Histories

Black Appalachians Oral History Project (Ms1991-019)

  • The Black Appalachians Oral History Project consists of a series of interviews conducted by Dr. Michael Cooke of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University concerning black life in Appalachia, especially in Montgomery County, Virginia. The narrators, many of whom attended Christiansburg Institute, represent communities such as Blacksburg, Christiansburg, Elliston, Riner, Shawsville, and Wake Forest.

Christiansburg Industrial Institute Oral History Project (Ms2019-037)

  • This collection consists of oral history recordings, transcripts, field notes, and other assorted documents produced by the students of Professor David Cline in the Fall of 2012 in association with their interviews with former students of CI about their childhoods, the African-American community in Southwest Virginia, the student experience at CI, the quality of CI’s curriculum and how it prepared students for further education and the workforce, the eventual closing of the school, and subsequent preservation efforts via the Christiansburg Institute Alumni Association and Christiansburg Institute, Inc.

Additional Online Resources

The Virginia Center for Civil War Studies

  • This page created by Virginia Tech's Virginia Center for Civil War Studies provides a brief overview of Christiansburg Industrial Institute's history. 

Newspaper Index Search

  • This newspaper index provides results from the Collegiate Times, the News Messenger, the Roanoke Times, the Virginia Tech Spectrum, and The News and ranges from 1963 to 2005.

About Special Collections and University Archives

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308

Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)