Appalachian Resources in Special Collections and University Archives: Food and Foodways
About Food and Foodways in Appalachia
In this section, you can find resources related to moonshine, traditional medicine, farm life, and food. Cookbooks that contain traditional recipes and methods of cooking can be found here.
Agriculture, shaped by the region's physical environment, has played a large role in the culture and history of Appalachia. Traditional Appalachian foods are a blend of dishes brought by the different cultural groups living in the region. Differences in recipes within the region often reflect immigration patterns. In the past, Appalachian food and cooking was a product of self-sufficiency and necessity. Today, like much of the United States, that has shifted due to mass commercialization. Due to the rural setting, the people of Appalachia often relied on folk remedies and traditional medicine that used local ingredients.
This information and more can be found in the Encyclopedia of Appalachia and the resources below.
Click on the book or collection title to learn more about it.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Hours:
Monday-Friday 9am-5pm & By Appointment
Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
X: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
Books & Journals
- Appalachian Heritage Cookbook, 1984. Call Number: TX715 A6246 1984a Spec Large
- Appalachian Melungeon Heritage Cookbook, 1995. Call Number: TX715 A6255 1995 Spec Large
- Appalachian Mountain Country Cookin', 1997. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 A66 1997 Spec Small
- Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F106 E53 2006 Spec Large and Newman 3rd Floor
- The Foxfire Book of Appalachian Cookery, 1992. Call Number:TX715 F826 1992 Spec Large
- Best, Bill. Saving Seeds, Preserving Taste, 2013. Call Number: SB118.38 B47 2013 Spec Large
- Coltrane, Robert I. An Economic Survey of the Appalachian Region, with Special Reference to Agriculture, 1965. Call Number: HD1751 A47 no.69
- Crellin, J. K. Trying to Give Ease: Tommie Bass and the Story of Herbal Medicine, 1997. Call Number: RS164 B324 C74 1997 Spec Large
- Dabney, Joseph Earl. Smokehouse Ham, Spoon Bread, and Scuppernong Wine: the Folklore and Art of Southern Appalachian Cooking, 1998. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 D43 1998 Spec Large and Newman 5th Floor
- Gabbard, Alex. Return to Thunder Road, 1992. Call Number: HJ5021 A127 G3 1992 Spec Large
- Jones, Ora L. Peculiarities of the Appalachian Mountaineers: a Summary of Legends, Traditions, Signs and Superstitions that are Almost Forgotten, 1967. Call Number: GR108 J65 1967 Spec Large
- LaLone, Mary B.; Spence, Reva K.; Wimmer, Peg. Appalachian Farming Life, 2003. Call Number: HD8039 F32 U615 2003 Spec Large and Newman 3rd Floor
- Lefler, Lisa J. Southern Foodways and Culture, 2013. Call Number: GN2 S9243 no.41 Spec Large
- Lundy, Ronni. Victuals: an Appalachian Journey, with Recipes, 2016. Call Number: TX715 L9424 2016 Spec Large
- Skeens, Betty. Grazing Along the Crooked Road: Recipes and Stories Past and Present, 2008. Call Number: TX715 S575 2008 Spec Large
- Stewart, Bruce E. Moonshiners and Prohibitionists: the Battle over Alcohol in Southern Appalachia, 2011. Call Number: HJ5021 S84 2011 Spec Large
- Swanson, Charles A. Farm Life and Legend: Poems, 2009. Call Number: PS3619 W362 F37 2009 Spec Large
- West Virginia Herb Association. The Herb Journal of the West Virginia Herb Association. Call Number: RS172 W4 H47 Spec Large
Manuscript Collections
- Bettie D. Cramer Manuscript Book, 1883-1884 (Ms2013-062).
- Chapman J. French Papers, 1903-1957 (Ms2009-034).
- Elizabeth Fine Papers, 1983-2012 (Ms2015-041).
- Johnson Farm Historic Resources Study Report, 1990 (Ms1990-061).
- Katherine G. Cary Manuscript Recipe Book, c1915 (Ms2013-005).
- Litchfield Family Household Ledger, c1870s-1890s (Ms2013-008).
- "National Diary" Recipe Book, [1914] (Ms2009-051).
- "Nye's Genuine Eye Water" Label, (Ms2015-018).
- Rural Retreat (Virginia) Percheron Co-Operative Breeding Association Ledger, 1939-1944 (Ms2013-042).
- United States Bureau of Internal Revenue Distillery Forms, 1902-1913 (Ms2008-095).
- Willis E. Franklin Patent, 1872 (Ms1967-001).
Media
- Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection. 1880-1989. (Ms1989-025). (photographs, artifacts)
- Sugar Cane, Sorghum, and Stir-offs: a Mountain Tradition. 2014. Call Number: DVD 6603 Spec Media (DVD)
- Regional Food Timeline. Published by SCUA.