Appalachian Resources in Special Collections and University Archives: General History
A Note About "General History"
This section generally does not include resources on specific states or places in Appalachia. These are only some of many resources in Special Collections. If you are searching for information about a specific region in Appalachia, we recommend you use the library catalog or Virginia Heritage, or contact SCUA for help with locating materials.
This information and more can be found in the Encyclopedia of Appalachia and the resources below.
Click on the book or collection title to learn more about it.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Books & Journals
- Appalachia: Twenty Years of Progress, 1985. Call Number: HC107 A127 A67 1985 Spec Large
- Archives of Appalachia Newsletter. Call Number: F217 A65 E26a Spec Large
- Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F106 E53 2006 Spec Large and Newman 3rd Floor
- Best, Irmgard. Appalachians Speak Up, 1973. Call Number: HN79 A13 A8 1973 Spec Large
- Bial, Raymond. Mist over the Mountains: Appalachia and its People, 1997. Call Number: F217 A65 B53 1997 Spec Large and Newman Juvenile
- Biggers, Jeff. The United States of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F217 A65 B54 2006 Spec Large and Newman 3rd Floor
- Crowell, Suzanne. Appalachian People's History Book, 1971. Call Number: F106 C85 1971 Spec Large
- Hayden, Wilburn, Jr. Appalachian Black People: Identity, Location, and Racial Barriers, 2015. Call Number: E185.912 H39 2015 Spec Large
- Hirschman, Elizabeth Caldwell. Melungeons: the Last Lost Tribe in America, 2005. Call Number: E184 M44 H57 2005 Spec Large
- Paden, Jeremy; Spriggs, Bianca Lynne; Walker, Frank X. Black Bone: 25 Years of the Affrilachian Poets, 2018. Call Number: PS591 N4 B476 2018 Spec Large
- Porter, Eliot. Appalachian Wilderness: the Great Smoky Mountains; Natural and Human History, 1975. Call Number: F106 P86 1975 Spec Folio
- Stachowicz, Tamara L. Melungeon Portraits: Exploring Kinship and Identity, 2018. Call Number: E184 M44 S73 2018 Spec Large
- Welch, Wendy. Fall or Fly: the Strangely Hopeful Story of Foster Care and Adoption in Appalachia, 2018. Call Number: HV875.56 A7 W45 2018 Spec Large
- Records of the Appalachian Student Organizing Committee, 1964-1975 (RG31/14/10).
- Dorothy McCombs Collection, 1970-1989 (Ms1995-006).
- Elizabeth Fine Papers, 1983-2012 (Ms2015-014).
- Jean Haskell-Speer Papers, 1782-1995 (Ms2011-109).
- Southwest Virginia Counties Collection, 1783-1878 (Ms2000-092).
- Appalachian Oral History Project. 1986-1991. (Ms1993-025) (cassette tapes)
- Black Appalachians Oral History Project. 1991. (Ms1991-019) (cassette tapes)
- Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection. 1880-1989. (Ms1989-025) (photographs, artifacts)