Appalachian Resources in Special Collections and University Archives: Craft, Home, and Arts
About Art in Appalachia
In this section, you will find resources related to crafts such as pottery and fiber arts like quilting. Photographs and prints of life in Appalachia are also included.
Traditionally, Appalachian handcrafts were inspired by the local community and created for practical purposes rather than just decoration. Most artisans didn't receive formal education, instead they learned through word of mouth or demonstration. Throughout history, crafts have reflected aspects of the community such as wealth, social standing, and ideals. This remains true in Appalachia, where traditions often vary according to region or available local materials.
This information and more can be found in the Encyclopedia of Appalachia and the resources below.
Click on the book or collection title for more information about it.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Hours:
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
Books & Journals
- Encyclopedia of Appalachia, 2006. Call Number: F106 E53 2006 Spec Large and Newman 3rd Floor
- Movers and Makers: Doris Ulmann's Portrait of the Craft Revival in Appalachia. Call Number: NK8812 M58 Spec Large
- Rosemont, Marion, Virginia, 1951. Call Number: F234 M373 R6 1951 Spec Small
- We the Quilters, 1987. Call Number: TT835 W4 1987 Spec Large
- Davis, Susan L. Appalachian Quilts of Floyd County, Virginia, 1980. Call Number: LD5655 V855 1980 D396 Spec Ready Reference and Spec VT General
- Eaton, Allen H. Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands, 1937. Call Number: NK814 E2 1937 Spec Large
- Gaynes, David. Artisans, Appalachia, USA. Call Number: NK814 G39 Spec Large
- Hough, Walter. An Early West Virginia Pottery. Call Number: NK4025 W37 H6 Spec Large
- House, Charles. The Outrageous Life of Henry Faulkner: Portrait of an Appalachian Artist, 1988. Call Number: ND237 F268 H68 1988 Spec Large
- Mansfield, Amy Childers; Stavick, Joyce E. The Artist as Activist in Appalachia, 2010. Call Number: PS554 A68 2010 Spec Large
- Wiltshire, William E. Folk Pottery of the Shenandoah Valley, 1975. Call Number: TP799 V8 W54 Spec Large and Newman 5th Floor
Manuscript Collections
- Dorothy McCombs Collection. 1970-1989 (Ms1995-006).
- Martha L. Johnson Family Papers. 1821-1882 (Ms2001-065).
- Rosemont Corporation Ledgers. 1939-1960 (Ms1987-029).
- Virginia Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Records. 1922-2002 (Ms2008-032).
Media
- Appalachian Quilt Project Cassette Tapes. 1978-1979. (Ms1981-097).(cassette tapes)
- Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection. 1880-1989. (Ms1989-025). (photographs, artifacts)
- Olin P. Keyes Coal Mining Prints. c1970. (Ms2010-035). (prints)