HUM/RLCL5204: Digital/Online Resources (not at VT)
Suggested collections & resources in Special Collections, at the University Libraries, and online for HUM/RLCL5204. This was originally created for Fall 2016, but was updated in February 2019.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our digital collections
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
Digital Paper & Multi-Format Collections
- Appalachian State University Digital CollectionsAppalachian State University Digital Collections consists of rare and historic materials and are made available online through the efforts of the Belk Library and Information Commons and the departments of Special Collections, Technology Services, and Bibliographic Services. The materials digitized include sound recordings, oral histories, civil war letters, and images focusing on the Appalachian region, Appalachian State University, children’s literature, art, and theater.
- Center for Virtual AppalachiaThe Center for Virtual Appalachia is a collection of information, photos, articles, and data about the Appalachian region and its people.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
- Digital Library of AppalachiaThe Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Library of Congress, American MemoryAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Special Collections and University Archives OnlineSpecial Collections and University Archives currently has a site to share our digital resources and digital exhibits. This is a locally hosted site that makes use of multiple basic and complex plugins and custom code.
- University of North Carolina Digital CollectionsThe digital collections emphasize North Carolina and the American South. Topics include the experience of African Americans, the Civil War, the arts, economics, and politics. Documenting the American South (DocSouth), the Library’s award-winning digital publishing initiative, provides access to important texts, images, and audio files for the study of Southern history, literature, and culture.
- Western Carolina University Digital CollectionsHunter Library is committed to building regionally oriented, historically significant collections of broad cultural and research interest. A number of these collections are online. These digital collections provide a foundation for research, education, and humanities programming through their documentation of significant aspects of the American story.
Digital A/V & Oral History Collections
- Digital HeritageDigitalHeritage.org includes essays, video interviews, and other materials created by the students of Western Carolina University. It also includes regional lesson plans created by teachers participating in the Adventure of the American Mind project sponsored by the Library of Congress. Radio spots created by WCU faculty and students may be heard on stations WKSF-FM, WMXF-AM, WPEK-AM, WWCU-FM, and WWNC-AM.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogThe Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
- University of Kentucky, Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral HistoryThis links to the list of histories with online content, but the collection contains additional interviews.