- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Topic Guides
- School of Education Research Resources
- Theses & Dissertations
School of Education Research Resources: Theses & Dissertations
Writing a Literature Review
Writing Literature Reviews by Call Number: H61.8 .G34 2013ISBN: 9781936523030Guides students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations.
Theoretical Frameworks
- Guide to Theoretical FrameworksA short overview of theoretical frameworks in educational leadership research.
- Understanding, Selecting, and Integrating a Theoretical Framework in Dissertation Research: Creating the Blueprint for Your "House"From the abstract: "Using a metaphor of the “blueprint”
of a house, this article explains the application of a theoretical framework in a dissertation. Steps for how to select and
integrate a theoretical framework to structure all aspects of the research process are described, with an example of how to
thread theory throughout the dissertation."
Submitting your thesis or dissertation?
If you're ready to submit your thesis or dissertation, you can find guidance, directions, and links at the Libraries' Guide to ETDs. Remember that all ETDs must be uploaded to iThenticate, with the final similarity report submitted with your ETD. For more information about iThenticate, visit the graduate school's webpage for more information.
Finding Theses & Dissertations
A dissertation or a thesis is a document that presents the author's research and findings and is submitted in support of candidature for a degree or professional qualification. Theses have been published at Virginia Tech since 1903. Theses and dissertations have been submitted electronically since 1996, with most of these freely available online. Many, though not all, theses and dissertations from other schools are available online or via Interlibrary Loan. In addition to the search tools referenced below, most subject specific databases (like PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, and Engineering Village) will provide citations for theses and dissertations in their covered fields.
- Virginia Tech ETDs 2013-PresentUse this resource to search for Virginia Tech ETDs published from 2013-present. You can browse by author, department, title, subject, or year.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2.7 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world along with more than 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added yearly. Use ILLiad to request non-full-text theses or dissertations. 1637-present, full-text dissertations 1997-present.
Thriving in Graduate School
Road to Success: A Guide for Doctoral Students and Junior Faculty Members in the Behavioral and Social Sciences by ISBN: 9781949373745Publication Date: 2021Navigating the broader challenges of academia is often accomplished by trial-and-error or ad-hoc mentoring one may receive. This book provides advice and tools, seeks to help researchers achieve success by navigating through these very challenges.
Resources for Writing
Check out some of our books geared toward helping you write your thesis or dissertation. These are just a sampling--we have many more resources for writing dissertations and theses!
How to Design, Write, and Present a Successful Dissertation Proposal by ISBN: 9781452257884
Surviving Your Dissertation by ISBN: 9781412916783
Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster by ISBN: 9781452274157
