- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Course Guides
- HNFE 4004 Research Resources
- Recommended Databases
HNFE 4004 Research Resources: Recommended Databases
At the University Libraries, we have nearly 1,000 different scholarly databases that you can use. For your research in HNFE 4004, I recommend the following databases. Still not sure about which database(s) are best for your research? Try browsing a few subject guides, or look through the full research database list.
Databases Of Interest
- PubMed/MEDLINE(1950 - ) PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations. PubMed is available to the public and includes some links to full text articles.
- Web of Science(1975 - ) This database includes citation databases for journal publications in science, social science, and arts and humanities
Web of Science Journal Citation Reports -- allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.
- Google ScholarGoogle's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.
Dataset Sources
- ICPSR: InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social ResearchThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.
- re3Data.orgre3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry went live in autumn 2012 and is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).
Remember to look for the Get VText icon:
If that doesn't work, don't hesitate to contact your librarian for help accessing the full text of an article.