Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Design of Play: Art & Architecture Library Resources

Resources related to the research and design of play in support of the Bachelor of Architecture Foundation Labs.

This Research Guide supports research towards the Naef Toy Design Competition in the School of Architecture and Design. The competition requires: 

  • Game or design object not to exceed 30cm X 25cm X 15 cm
  • Suitable for ages 0-99 (baby toys acceptable)
  • No furniture, lamps, household items, etc.
  • Made of wood (preferred)
  • All items must meet U.S. safety standards
  • Familiarize with Naef products and other existing toy designs to ensure that a similar design or concept does not already exis

Learn more about Naef on their website.

 

Books on Toy Design in the Art & Architecture Library
Children's Books

 

The Art & Architecture Library maintains a small collections of children's books related to art and design. These books could serve as research tools to understand children's interests and expose concepts worth exploring. A larger collection, including award-winning children's books is available at Newman Library.

You can search the children's book collection here or browse in the library in the call number range PZ7-PZ8.

Design Resources

 

The databases below are good places to start your research on toy design. To view a full list of design-related databases click here.  

Psychology Resources

 

The database below is one of many psychology-related databases at Virginia Tech. See the full list here

Historical Resources

 

The database below is one of many history-related databases at Virginia Tech. See the full list here