Several databases and publication describe experimental procedures. These research methods and protocols often provide step-by-step instructions for performing the experiment. Most of these protocols are for research/experiments in the life sciences.
You can use Discovery Search to find protocols. Combine protocol or method with your experiment's name or subject.
Protocol databases
-
JoVE UnlimitedThis package is JoVE’s complete video library. It includes all research journals−Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience−and all sections of Encyclopedia of Experiments (Biology and Cancer Research). JoVE Education collections, such as JoVE Core, Lab Manuals, and all Science Education subjects−Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Physics and Psychology−is also included.
-
Protocols.ioProtcols.io is an open access repository of science methods. There are features for working in groups discussing methods, and annotating documents.
-
Springer Nature ExperimentsSpringer Nature Experiments provides peer-reviewed, reproducible protocols for scientific experiments in the life sciences. Protocols include step-by-step instructions, lists of required materials, and troubleshooting notes. Content covers areas such as biochemistry, molecular biology, and biomedical research. Formats include HTML, PDF, and some streaming videos. Coverage: 1980s–present.
-
Wiley Current ProtocolsWiley provides full-text books on research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences in HTML and PDF. Complex procedures are clarified with illustrations, tables, data charts, diagrams, and videos.
