Laboratory protocols and methods

This guide links to laboratory protocols and research methods.

Several databases and publication describe experimental procedures. These research methods and protocols often provide step-by-step instructions for performing the experiment. Most of these protocols are for research/experiments in the life sciences.

You can use Discovery Search to find protocols. Combine protocol or method with your experiment's name or subject.

Protocol databases

JoVE Unlimited
This package is JoVE’s complete video library. It includes all research journals−Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience−and all sections of Encyclopedia of Experiments (Biology and Cancer Research). JoVE Education collections, such as JoVE Core, Lab Manuals, and all Science Education subjects−Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Physics and Psychology−is also included.
Protocols.io
- This link opens in a new window
Protcols.io is an open access repository of science methods. There are features for working in groups discussing methods, and annotating documents.
Springer Nature Experiments
Springer Nature Experiments is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures or protocols for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.
A protocol is a precise and detailed experiment for the study of a biochemistry, molecular biology, and/or biomedical problem. Protocols are experiment procedure "recipes" or "methods" organized in a standardized format that can be executed in a laboratory environment. They contain step-by-step procedures and include a list of the materials needed to perform the experiment (materials can include chemicals, hardware, software, etc.). Protocols also contain "notes" or "tips" sections providing users with troubleshooting suggestions to help solve problems that may arise during experiments. Researchers rely on protocols to study gene behavior, discover new approaches to treat diseases, and lower costs of drug development.

SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by distinguished editors in their specific subject areas. Prior to publication each protocol is reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and consistency by the subject editor, a member of our prestigious editorial board, and Springer's in-house editorial staff.
Wiley Current Protocols
Wiley provides full-text books on research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences in HTML and PDF. Complex procedures are clarified with illustrations, tables, data charts, diagrams, and videos.

Laboratory protocols and methods

Protocol databases

Protocol journals