MKV File Format: Resources
File Format Technical Info
- Apple, Inc. (2016, September 13). QuickTime File Format Specification. Retrieved February 05, 2018.
- Jones, Jimi. (2016, October 16). So Many Standards, So Little Time: An Analysis of the Development and Adoption of Video Digitization Standards." Presented at DigiPres2018.
- Library of Congress. (2016, March 09). “AVI (Audio Video Interleaved) File Format.” Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections. Retrieved February 05, 2018.
- Library of Congress. (2015, December 21). “FF Video Codec 1.” Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections.
- Library of Congress. (2015, December 21). “Matroska Multimedia Container.” Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections.
- Library of Congress. (2012, March 02). “MPEG-4 File Format, Version 2.” Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections.
- Library of Congress. (2013, February 14). “QuickTime File Format.” Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections.
- Microsoft. AVI RIFF File Reference.
- Microsoft. DirectShow Filters.
- PRONOM Technical Registry
Articles & Reports
- Archivematica. (2015). “Format policies.”
- Arms, Caroline and Fleischhauer, Carol (2005). "Digital Formats: Factors for Sustainability, Functionality and Quality." Paper presented at IS&T Archiving 2005 Conference, Washington, DC.
- B., P., Lewetz, H., & Jaks, M. (2013, September 4). Comparing video codecs and containers for archives. [Web log post]. Last updated September 13, 2015.
- Federal Agencies Digital Guidelines Initiative. (2014, December 02). “Digital File Formats for Videotape Reformatting.” National Archives and Records Administration.
- Hagen, A. (2018, April 16). "Specifications for Analog Video Digitization: Examining Community Practices." Bentley Historical Library Curation Team Blog.
- ISO/IEC 14496-2:2004: Information technology -- Coding of audio-visual objects -- Part 2: Visual. (2015). International Organization for Standardization, Geneva, Switzerland.
- Lacinak, C. (2010). A primer on codecs for moving image and sound archives & 10 recommendations for codec selection and management. AudioVisual Preservation Soutions.
- Lee, J. (2017, March 14). “AVI, MKV, or MP4? Video Filetypes Explained and Compared.” MakeUseOf.
- Library of Congress (2015, December 21). "Content Categories," a subsection of Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections.
- Lindblom, O. (2015, October 5). How to Choose the Right Codec and Container for Your Video Workflow. Videomaker Magazine. Retrieved February 16, 2018.
- PREFORMA. (n.d.). Media Types and Standards.
- Todd, M. (2009, October). File formats for preservation. DPC Technology Watch Series.
Lists & Charts
- Comparison of video container formats. (2018, February 02). Retrieved February 05, 2018.
- Video file format. (2018, January 17). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 19:24, February 16, 2018.
Other University Examples
- Indiana University's File Formats Guide
- Stanford Libraries' "Best practices for file formats"
- State Archive of North Carolina's "File Format Guidelines for Management and Long-Term Retention of Electronic Records"
- University of Michigan: "Digital Preservation Infrastructure Tours: The Bentley Historical Library"
Quick History of Matroska
- 2002: Official birth on SourceForge (Matroska)
- 2007: Established
- Developed by the Matroska Development Team
- Supported by non-profits
- Licensed under GNU L-GPL
- All file extensions: .mkv (video/video + audio), .mka (audio), .mk3d (3D video), and .mks (subtitles)
- 2010: WebM adopted the format and paired it with VP8 and Vorbis to conform to WebM guidelines (WebM FAQ)
- 2014: Windows 10 supports HEVC and Matroska OOTB (Windows, Softpedia)
- 2014: Endorsed by the PREFORMA project on acceptable preservation formats