Education

Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. The database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and full text for nearly 1,300 journals, as well as full text for approximately 550 books and monographs and numerous education-related conference papers. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1865–present.

ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.

Educators Reference Complete Indexes citations and full text of academic journals, reports, and reference works in administration, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, directories, biographies, and case studies on all aspects of education.The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.

PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.

PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.

Cabell's provides information on the journal article publishing process: acceptance rates, style and formats, types of review processed, time required, and other criteria to find the best fit for your manuscript. Reports provided in HTML and PDF.

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference works, journal articles, videos, and the “Little Green Book” (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) and “Little Blue Book” (Qualitative Research Methods) series. Focuses on research methodology across disciplines, including social sciences and health sciences. Features tools such as the Methods Map for exploring relationships among methods. Coverage: 1970s–present.

Use the subject filter to find videos about counseling.

Psychotherapy.net provides streaming videos on psychotherapy and counseling.

PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists. Click "Watch video on PsycTHERAPY" to view the content.

PsycTESTS indexes psychological tests, with the full text of the test available in most cases. Test instruments available in HTML and PDF.

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially available tests in areas such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychology, achievement, intelligence, aptitude, education, and speech and hearing. Each entry includes details such as test purpose, publisher, pricing, and expert reviews, but does not include the actual tests. Coverage spans the 1st through 20th Yearbooks, with information essential for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business, and related fields.

Tests in Print (TIP), also produced by the Buros Institute, serves as a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests currently in print in English. TIP provides information such as test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, acronym, intended population, administration time, publication date, and author.

The Chronicle of Higher Education provides full text HTML articles from the publication back to 1970.

PolicyMap provides data through interactive maps about communities and markets across the U.S., for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications, and impact analysis. Videos and tutorials about using PolicyMap are available on the Support Page. For information on PolicyMap datasets, visit Data Indicators.

Funding Institutional allows researchers to search for grant opportunities and provides historical data about awards and related publications. This data can be used to select opportunities that are the best fit and tailor proposals based on past success. Additionally, users can track award trends, find potential collaborators, and improve their understanding of the competitive landscape. Searches can be narrowed down by location, special interest (limited submission, amount greater than $1M, deadline within three months, multidisciplinary, or foundation or private sponsor) and/or by subject area. It includes information on more than 11,000 funding bodies and more than 24,000 active opportunities. Use your @vt.edu email address to register for an account.

This database is provided by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.

Grants.gov simplifies the grants management process and creates a centralized, online process to find and apply for over 900 grant programs from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov streamlines the process of awarding over $360 billion annually to state and local governments, academia, not-for-profits and other organizations. The vision for Grants.gov is to be a simple, unified source to electronically find, apply and manage grant opportunities.