Agricultural, leadership, and community education: Recommended

Agricultural and extension education at Virginia Tech involves the study of teaching and learning, leadership and change, and extension and community education in the context of agriculture and the life sciences.

Recommended online resources

AGRICOLA from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
PubAg from the USDA
PubAg indexes citations and full-text of agricultural scientific literature. 1997-present.
CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
ERIC via WorldCat
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
AGRIS
AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.
AGRIS was created by FAO in 1974 to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. Particularly strong in literature from developing countries. Searches can be made in English, French, and Spanish.
Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,300 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, full text for numerous education-related conference papers, plus author profiles for the most prolific authors in the field.

Libraries are for Everyone

Life Science, Agriculture, and Scholarly Communication Librarian

Inga Haugen

Email Me

Contact:

204 Newman Library

540.231.7546

Subjects: Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.