Biochemistry: Research Resources

Biochemistry at Virginia Tech is the study of the molecular mechanisms by which life processes take place.

Course Guides

Course library guides available for:

BCHM 1014 - Biochemistry FYE
BCHM 5784 - Advanced Applications in Molecular Life Sciences

Recommended online resources

Library Databases

Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
Biosis Citation Index from Clarivate Anaytics
Biosis indexes journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, and patents on all areas of life sciences including molecular and cell biography, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, and ecology. You can perform cited reference searches. 1926-present.

Tutorials, Videos, Protocols

JoVE Science Education
JoVE Scientific Education is a video library dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand visual demonstrations. We currently subscribe to JoVE Unlimited.
New England Journal of Medicine Multimedia
The NEJM provides instructional videos and interactive, multimedia teaching tools.
JoVE Unlimited
This package is JoVE’s complete video library. It includes all research journals−Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience−and all sections of Encyclopedia of Experiments (Biology and Cancer Research). JoVE Education collections, such as JoVE Core, Lab Manuals, and all Science Education subjects−Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Physics and Psychology−is also included.
Springer Nature Experiments
Springer Nature Experiments is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures or protocols for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.
A protocol is a precise and detailed experiment for the study of a biochemistry, molecular biology, and/or biomedical problem. Protocols are experiment procedure "recipes" or "methods" organized in a standardized format that can be executed in a laboratory environment. They contain step-by-step procedures and include a list of the materials needed to perform the experiment (materials can include chemicals, hardware, software, etc.). Protocols also contain "notes" or "tips" sections providing users with troubleshooting suggestions to help solve problems that may arise during experiments. Researchers rely on protocols to study gene behavior, discover new approaches to treat diseases, and lower costs of drug development.

SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by distinguished editors in their specific subject areas. Prior to publication each protocol is reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and consistency by the subject editor, a member of our prestigious editorial board, and Springer's in-house editorial staff.
Wiley Current Protocols
Wiley provides full-text books on research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences in HTML and PDF. Complex procedures are clarified with illustrations, tables, data charts, diagrams, and videos.

Biochemistry Liaison Librarian

Kat Brown

Any Pronouns

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library, Room 3005
katbrown@vt.edu

(540) 231-5140

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.