Biological systems engineering: Recommended

Biological systems engineering at Virginia Tech is the study of the engineering knowledge and practices that can be applied to the protection of natural resources and the improvement of sustainable production, processing, and utilization of biological mat

Overview for biological systems engineering

NCBI Bookshelf
The NCBI Bookshelf hosts full-text books (mostly as PDFs) that can be searched or browsed. Titles are also linked from other NCBI databases such as PubMed.
Through links to other resources at NCBI, such as PubMed, Gene, and OMIM, Bookshelf enables readers to discover relevant biomedical information (see Figure 1). A number of full-text books, reports and databases hosted in Bookshelf can be accessed through links in their corresponding entry in PubMed, a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and documents (see the NLM Technical Bulletin for more information). PubMed and Bookshelf are also interlinked by 1) links in PubMed to publications in Bookshelf that have cited a PubMed citation in their bibliography, and 2) links to PubMed citations from articles cited in publications on Bookshelf.

Recommended online resources

AGRICOLA from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
ASABE Technical Library
The ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (PDF and HTML). Some books and textbooks are also available (each chapter is a separate PDF).
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Compendex (1884-present) indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec (1898-present) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. Knovel provides ebooks on engineering and related subjects.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of aquatic resources, including life sciences, economics, and social science/public policy aspects. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide from EBSCOhost
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports on the agricultural, biological, and natural resource aspects of fish and fisheries. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1700s-present; most content is 1970-present.

Libraries are for Everyone

Les Bibliotheques Sont Pour Tout Le Monde

Agriculture, Life Science, and Scholarly Communication Librarian

Inga Haugen

Email Me

Contact:

204 Newman Library

540.231.7546

Subjects: Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.