Computer Science: FE Exam Prep
Computer science represents a very diverse area of study focusing around a body of core knowledge in the computing discipline.
Support for FE Exams
The Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Exam is for any engineer graduating from an accredited engineering program like those at Virginia Tech. Your department can help you with exam fees and here in the University Libraries, we have an extensive reserve collection of practice exams, review books and more!
Why take the FE Exam? This is your first step towards becoming a professional engineer, something needed for many jobs and even those that it does not, you will receive a pay increase for completing the process! Be sure to check out the specialization options too for the final step to get your PE license as there are many, many options (27 specializations!).
Here's some study options as you prepare:
-
Use our reserve collection - check the tabs below or ask at the main desk in Newman Library (we have multiple copies of each!)
-
Sign up for ESM 4404 - Fundamentals of Professional Engineering, which is designed to help you review and prepare for being a professional engineer
-
Study with your classmates!
Note: Although we cannot purchase them for library use, both NCEES and Kaplan's PPI have electronic options available.
FE Reference Handbook by ISBN: 9781947801110Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/ (new edition was recently released, will be replaced this year)
Engineering Unit Conversions, 4th Edition - a Comprehensive Guide to Understanding Conversions and PE Metrics by ISBN: 9781591260998Publication Date: 2019If you have ever struggled with converting grams to slugs, centistokes to square feet per second, or pounds per million gallons (lbm/MG) to milligrams per liter (mg/L), you will appreciate the time-saving value of Engineering Unit Conversions. More than 4500 entries covering traditional English, conventional metric, and SI units!
Core Engineering Concepts for Students and Professionals - a Comprehensive Reference Covering Thousands of Engineering Topics by ISBN: 9781591261902Publication Date: 2010Core Engineering Concepts for Students and Professionals is a cross-disciplinary reference that can be used by engineers studying or practicing in any engineering field. This authoritative reference provides comprehensive coverage of thousands of engineering concepts in one convenient book, including topics covered in 4- and 5-year engineering degree programs and those encountered in practice. Written for both students and practitioners by a professional engineer, it incorporates more than 30 years of engineering experience.
FE Chemical Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781947801035Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Chemical Practice Problems - Comprehensive Practice for the NCEES FE Chemical Exam by ISBN: 9781591264460Publication Date: 2023FE Chemical Practice Problems offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES Chemical FE exam. This book is part of a comprehensive learning management system designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time.
FE Chemical Review Manual - Comprehensive Review Guide for the NCEES FE Chemical Exam by ISBN: 9781591264453Publication Date: 2023Michael R. Lindeburg, PE's FE Chemical Review Manual offers complete coverage of the NCEES Chemical FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables. With concise explanations of thousands of equations, and hundreds of figures and tables, the FE Chemical Review Manual contains everything you need to successfully prepare for the Chemical FE exam.
FE Civil Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781932613971Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Civil Practice - Comprehensive Practice for the NCEES FE Civil Exam by ISBN: 9781591265306Publication Date: 2023Michael R Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Practice offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES FE Civil exam. This book is part of an integrated review program designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time. This book features over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems to illustrate the type of problems you will encounter during the exam. It also features clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered on the exam.
FE Civil Exams - Includes 5 Full FE Civil Practice Exams with Step-By-Step Solutions, over 550 Practice Problems for the NCEES FE Exam by ISBN: 9781591267935Publication Date: 2022The new FE Civil Exams book includes five full practice exams containing 110 FE Civil practice problems each, featuring both multiple-choice and Alternative Item Types (AIT's) to provide an experience just like exam day. This book is designed to prepare you for the Computer-Based Testing (CBT) FE exam taken at Pearson Vue test centers. Prepare for exam day by taking the practice exams just before you sit for your exam.
FE Civil Review - a Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual by ISBN: 9781591265290Publication Date: 2023Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Review offers complete coverage of the NCEES Civil FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables--from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. With concise explanations of thousands of equations, and hundreds of figures and tables, the FE Civil Review contains everything you need to successfully prepare for the Civil FE exam.
FE Electrical and Computer Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781947801004Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Electrical and Computer Practice Problems - Comprehensive Practice for the FE Electrical and Computer Fundamentals of Engineering Exam by ISBN: 9781591264507Publication Date: 2023PPI's FE Electrical and Computer Practice Problems offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES FE Electrical and Computer exam. This FE book is part of a complete learning management system designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time. Over 450 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems to illustrate the type of problems you'll encounter during the exam.
FE Electrical and Computer Review Manual - Comprehensive FE Book for the FE Electrical and Computer Exam by ISBN: 9781591264491Publication Date: 2023Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Electrical and Computer Review Manual offers complete coverage of the Electrical and Computer FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables--from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. With 15 mini-exams to assess your grasp of the exam's knowledge areas, and concise explanations of thousands of equations and hundreds of figures and tables, the Review Manual contains everything you need to succeed on the Electrical and Computer FE exam.
FE Environmental Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781932613988Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Environmental Practice - Comprehensive Practice for the NCEES FE Environmental Exam by ISBN: 9781591266365Publication Date: 2022FE Environmental Practice will give you the focused practice and preparation you need to pass the FE environmental exam, including over 100 practice problems, with full solutions to help you check your answers and steps two 110-problem practice exams clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered in the exam step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day.
Environmental Engineering: FE Review Manual by ISBN: 9781683380146Publication Date: 2018Brightwood Engineering Education's Environmental Engineering: FE Review Manual is the best exam preparation available for the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Environmental CBT exam. This volume contains a variety of practice problems and step-by-step solutions that provide you with a complete and thorough review of the test topics.
FE Industrial and Systems Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781932613964Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
Industrial Engineering: FE Review Manual - a Comprehensive Manual for the FE Industrial CBT Exam, Features over 100 Problems with Step-By-Step Solutions by ISBN: 9781683380153Publication Date: 2018Brightwood Engineering Education's Industrial Engineering: FE Review Manual contains a variety of practice problems and step-by-step solutions that provide you with a complete and thorough review of the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Industrial CBT exam topics.
FE Mechanical Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781932613995Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Mechanical Practice Problems - Comprehensive Practice for the FE Mechanical Exam by ISBN: 9781591264422Publication Date: 2023FE Mechanical Practice Problems offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES FE Mechanical exam. This book features over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems to illustrate the type of problems you will encounter during the exam. It also features clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered on the exam.
FE Mechanical Exams--Two Full Practice Exams with Step-By-Step Solutions by ISBN: 9781591268765Publication Date: 2022PPI FE Mechanical Exams--Two Full Practice Exams With Step-By-Step Solutions The new FE Mechanical Exams book includes two full practice exams containing 110 FE Mechanical practice problems each, featuring both multiple-choice and Alternative Item Types (AIT's) to provide an experience just like exam day.
FE Other Disciplines Practice Exam by ISBN: 9781947801042Publication Date: 2020Practice exam by National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Note - be sure to check for errata: https://ncees.org/exams/exam-prep-errata/
FE Other Disciplines Practice Problems - Comprehensive Practice for the Other Disciplines FE Exam by ISBN: 9781591264446Publication Date: 2023FE Other Disciplines Practice Problems offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES Other Disciplines FE exam. This book is part of a comprehensive learning management system designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time.
FE Other Disciplines Review Manual - a Comprehensive Review Guide to Pass the NCEES FE Exam by ISBN: 9781591264439Publication Date: 2022Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Other Disciplines Review Manual offers complete coverage of the Other Disciplines FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables--from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. With 15 mini-exams to assess your grasp of the exam's knowledge areas, and concise explanations of thousands of equations and hundreds of figures and tables, this Review Manual contains everything you need to succeed on the Other Disciplines FE exam.
Engineering Librarian
Sarah Over
she/her/Dr.
Contact:
Newman Library
Rm 3013
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Rm 3013
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-8693
Subjects: Engineering and physical sciences