Engineering education: Recommended

Engineering education at Virginia Tech

Engineering education at Virginia Tech focuses on teaching courses for first-year engineering students and offers a graduate program for students interested in being teachers and scholars within the field of engineering. Engineering education combines broad views of the engineering field with in-depth engineering research and real-life applications of engineering knowledge.

Overview for engineering education

ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of all ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions (the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook). The ASM Handbook Online contains peer-reviewed, trusted information in every area of materials engineering and is the industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology.
Morgan and Claypool
Synthesis is a collection of ebooks in engineering and the sciences. The basic component is a 50-100 page ebook called a Lecture that synthesizes important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field that provide more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical journal articles. Each ebook is a single PDF. Colloquium Life Sciences Lectures are organized by subject area, or Series. Each Series is edited by a prestigious Series Editor who oversees topic selection, invitation of expert authors, and scientific review to ensure quality. Links lead to series descriptions and a list of all published and forthcoming Lectures in that series.
The library and its lectures are organized by series. Each series is managed by a prominent consulting editor. The series editor guides lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review. New series and lectures will be added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed. This will make the collection dynamic in a way that has not been achieved with traditional reference or educational products.

The Synthesis platform provides the user with access to content in PDF with live links to references and sophisticated search and personalization functions.

The Lecture format:

Enables user to more efficiently find information specific to their interest.
Allows for a high level of authoritativeness, as authors focus on their area of active research.
Enables the library to be extremely current since Lectures in fast moving fields will be frequently updated. Also, Lectures are published as soon as they are completed rather than when the last in a batch is finished (as with print reference works).
Offers the potential to be exhaustively complete since the format can accommodate contributions on even the most specialized topics.
Knovel Library
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Knovel is also searchable through the Engineering Village interface.
Our subscription includes:
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
ASM International Alloy Information
ASM International Handbooks Online
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Composites
Computer Hardware Engineering
Earth Sciences
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Engineering Management & Leadership
Environment & Environmental Engineering
Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response
Food Science
General Engineering & Project Administration
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
Manufacturing Engineering
Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
Nanotechnology
Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation
Oil & Gas Engineering
Optics & Photonics
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Process Design, Control & Automation
Regulatory Information
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Software Engineering
Sustainable Energy & Development
Textiles
Transportation Engineering
Welding Engineering & Materials Joining

Recommended online resources

Compendex from Engineering Village
Compendex is a bibliographic database that indexes engineering literature, including scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, standards, and some patents. It was originally established as a print publication in 1884 and has since evolved into a digital repository.
Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,300 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, full text for numerous education-related conference papers, plus author profiles for the most prolific authors in the field.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Engineering Case Studies Online provides full text reports, videos, event timelines, maps, audio footage and transcripts, blueprints, and other archival content on engineering failures and successes.
The analysis and study of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables modern engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Yet the tools to teach these classes are often inconsistent, with much of the material scattered across numerous resources. Once located, information can be subjective and incomplete.
The engineering field needs a comprehensive resource to provide in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures. Engineering Case Studies Online is an online collection that offers 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. It provides in-depth coverage for 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world together with supplementary materials from more than 1,000 additional failures.
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Compendex (1884-present) indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec (1898-present) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. Knovel provides ebooks on engineering and related subjects.
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, ebooks, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs.Full-text journals back to 1884, conference proceedings back to 1951.

Engineering Education Librarian

Lisa Becksford Russell

Email Me

Contact:

lisab5@vt.edu

Subjects: Social sciences and education

Schedule an appointment with me!

The best way to get in touch is to send an email or sign up for an appointment during my regularly-scheduled office hours. To sign up, please click the button below. If none of those times work, please email me to find another time. For 2024-2025, consultations are available either in-person in Newman Library or virtually via Zoom. Please note that the default appointment length is 15 minutes, but longer appointments are available.

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.