French language and literature: Recommended
Research materials for French language and literature support the study of the language, literatures, art, history, culture, and business practices of France and other Francophone countries.
Overview for French language and literature
- Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
- Grand Corpus des dictionnaires from Classiques GarnierThe Grand Corpus des dictionniares contains entries from 24 French language dictionaries, , i.e. nearly 200,000 pages (with 2,500 characters), representing an exceptionally rich database containing 900,000 entries and their definitions published from the 9th to 20th centuries. You can limit searches to grammatical categories, etymologies, historical usage, and quotes and citations. The interface is in French.
Recommended online resources
- ARTFL-FRANTEXTARTFL-FRANTEXT provides HTML full-text works ranging from classic French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
- French Women WritersThe ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing full-text works in HTML by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century. The Women Writers Project currently contains texts by 40 authors.
- Vente et Gestion from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Vente et Gestion indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and country reports in the field of accounting, tax, administration, industry and manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology. Full-text material is available in PDF format. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach
Jennifer Nardine
she/her
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
540-231-4073
Website
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.