Horticulture: Recommended

Horticulture is the art and science of growing plants. Virginia Tech's degree and research emphasis is on sustainable urban landscaping, nursery production, environmental and urban horticulture, vegetable and fruit crop production, viticulture, and plant

Overview for horticulture

Horticulture Compendium from CABI
Horticulture Compendium provides full-text datasheets on crops, pests, and countries, plus photos and a glossary.
Crop Protection Compendium
Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 2,360 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species providing a complete archive. Some documents are available in full text as HTML and PDF.
Global Plants from JSTOR
We have temporary access to this resource. Global Plants provides over 2 million high-resolution images of type specimens of plants from around the world.
Plant Management Network
Plant Management Network indexes the full text of thousands of fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources on applied plant science and other agricultural disciplines, plus articles from several plant science journals. Full text provides as PDFs. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass. 2000-present
Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit, online publishing effort whose mission is to enhance the health, management, and production of agricultural and horticultural crops. PMN achieves this mission by developing science-based resources that help researchers, crop management professionals, consultants, growers, educators, and students make better plant management decisions and recommendations.

Recommended online resources

CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
AGRICOLA from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Early literature databases

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

Libraries are for Everyone

Les Bibliotheques Sont Pour Tout Le Monde

Life Science, Agriculture, and Scholarly Communication Librarian

Inga Haugen

Email Me

Contact:

204 Newman Library

540.231.7546

Subjects: Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.