Mathematics: Recommended

Mathematics at Virginia Tech

Mathematics at Virginia Tech prepares students for careers in government, industry, teaching, and Ph.D. work. Major programs of research and study include broad studies within mathematics, applied and computational mathematics, applied discrete mathematics, and mathematics education. Many areas of mathematics are closely associated with physics, computer science, engineering, and education.

Overview for mathematics

History of Science, Technology & Medicine from EBSCOhost
The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, maps, and other materials on the history of science, medicine, and technology. 1600s-present.

Recommended Databases

MathSciNet
MathSciNet indexes citations, abstracts, full text, and reviews of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertation in the mathematical sciences. Content is available in HTML and PDF. This database allows cited reference searching. 1800s-present.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Authors are uniquely identified, enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string.

Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

MathSciNet now contains bibliographic data and direct links for Ph.D. theses published in Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics from the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database.

Exporting citations
Citations for MathSciNet items can be viewed/downloaded in EndNote, AMSRefs, BibTeX and ASCII formats.
You may choose to view or download citations for up to 50 item. This can be done by selecting Citations (ASCII), Citations (BibTeX), Citations (AMSRefs), or Citations (EndNote) from the pull-down menu located next to Batch download: and then clicking on Retrieve First 50. If there are fewer than 50 items in the list, all of them will be displayed. Alternatively, you may mark up to 50 individual items and then retrieve them. Click in the boxes to the left of all items you want to view/download and then click the Retrieve Marked button.
Once you have the list of citations displayed in the desired format, use the File | Save As function in your browser to download the file.

University Libraries - Journals

Find and Browse Journals subscribed by the University Libraries
Submit an Interlibrary Loan request
Note: Using the "GetVText" button on the bottom of most article or book entries in library databases will automatically paste your item's citation into the interlibrary loan form and may be a faster option.

Recommended online resources

arXiv.org from Cornell University
ArXiv is a highly-automated electronic, open archive and distribution server for research articles in engineering and the physical sciences. Full text available in a variety of formats, including PDF, HTML, and PS.

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.

Assistant Director, Evidence Synthesis Services

Cozette Comer

Email Me

Contact:

540-231-5329

Ask a Librarian

Request a Book or Article

Request a Book or Article
Request materials thru Interlibrary Loan that are available elsewhere, ahead-of-print, off-site, missing, or otherwise unavailable from journal databases.
More information
More information (including request a library purchase (book or journal) and recall-a-book currently checked out)