Music: Recommended
Research materials for music support the curricula of study in music performance, music education, composition, and music technology. It includes music scores and recordings, historical and contextual information, and performance reviews among its resourc
Overview for music
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library provides streaming music from classical, jazz, world music, pop, rock, and Chinese orchestral CDs. NML also provides libretti and synopses for operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, an overview of musical terms, and work analyses and details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, work information and available recordings.
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is a gateway to Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources (Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music) in one location. References are linked via Get VText.
- Digital Concert Hall from Berliner PhilharmonikerDigital Concert Hall provides streaming audio of hundreds of Berliner Philharmoniker’s concert recordings, live streams, artist interviews, and documentaries. Create a free profile with any email address to view performances.
Recommended online resources
- African Music Database from Africa Knowledge ProjectAfrican Music Database provides all types of African music beginning with highlife, traditional cultural groups, popular music, hiplife, and jazz. The growing database will feature music from artists in Africa and the global diaspora. Each work is downloadable in MP3. 2006-present.
- Humanities and Performing Arts databases from ProQuestSearch across multiple ProQuest databases for journal and magazine articles, reviews, news reports, and dissertations in the humanities and performing arts.
- IPA SourceIPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Promotes the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. At present, IPA Source offers works in Latin, Italian, German, and French. Transcriptions presented as PDFs. Includes mp3 recordings of some pronunciations.
- Met Opera On DemandMet Opera on Demand provides streaming video of over 500 Met performances, each with subtitles in English and other languages. You can search by opera, singer, composer, or conductor. Scroll down for the list of available performances.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text from ESBCOhost
This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present. - Music Index from EBSCOhostMusic Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1970-present with selective coverage in prior years.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-Present) from EBSCOhostRILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-Present only) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, books, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments, sound recordings, and motion pictures in the field of music, music therapy, and music education. 1967-present.
T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach
Jennifer Nardine
she/her
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology
540-231-4073
Website
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.