Russian language and literature: Recommended
Research materials for Russian language and literature support the study of the history, culture, politics, and language of Russian and Russian-speaking countries.
Recommended online resources
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) from EBSCOhostAmerican Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) indexes citations and full-text information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subject areas covered include social sciences and education, humanities and the arts, and business and economics. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. 1989-present.
- Current Digest of Post-Soviet PressSelected content on the most important issues from the most authoritative Soviet and Russian press since 1949: newspapers, government reports of the day, and hundreds of other special interest journals and authoritative sources, and translated it into English without elaboration or comment. Digest entries (not the original Russian works) are in full text and page image.
- East View Information ServicesEast View provides full-text access to Russian-language newspaper archives and current editions (listed under "standalone serials"), summaries in English of Soviet and Russian news, and several collections of open-access historical newspapers from around the world (e.g. East Asia and the Middle East) in their original languages and alphabets. A small number of ebooks is also available. 1912-present.
- Russian Film HubOn Russian Film Hub, you can legally watch hundreds of Russian and Soviet movies with English subtitles for free. Provides filtering by genre, decade, director, etc. Moreover, it's the only English language website to which Mosfilm (the largest Soviet studio) has granted embedded streaming privileges.
- Rosetta StoneRosetta Stone offers online instruction in 25 languages, including English as a second language. Always start with the Login with CAS link, where you'll create a personal profile to track your progress. Mobile app versions are available as well (after the app is installed, start with the above link in your browser). If you want more practice listening to and speaking Russian, Rosetta Stone is a good option.
Linguistics
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
T&LE Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach
Jennifer Nardine
Contact:
Newman Library, Room 3007
540-231-4073
Departments: Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture
Website
540-231-4073
Departments: Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.