Jean Russell Quible Department of Collections and Technical Services: Home
In the Loop
Collections & Technical Services: Our Mission, Vision, and Values
We foster learning and discovery by connecting people with significant collections and resources, and expert support of research.
In accordance with the University Libraries’ mission, our collections and services will support research and teaching. Collection management will be based on sound assessment practices and user needs. We will continue to be responsive to changes in information acquisition and scholarly publishing.
Collaboration and teamwork: We rely on our collective expertise in accomplishing our goals. We establish partnerships in and outside the library to further our mission.
Continuous improvement: We anticipate and are responsive to changes in user needs and the needs of our institution. We strive for excellence in all we do, creating and employing best practices. We strive for efficiency and flexibility in our workflows.
Discovery: Our collections and services nurture scholarly exploration.
Innovation: We are creative, adaptable, and amenable to intelligent risk-taking. We strive to remove barriers to access.
Professional development: We invest in the training and development of our employees.
Service: We are committed to providing excellent service. We are responsive, respectful, and accessible.
Edward F. Lener
Director of Collections and Technical Services
Resident Science Librarian
Acquisitions Unit Head
ILL Unit Head
College Librarian for Business
Assistant Director for Collection Management
Assistant Director for Continuing and Electronic Resources
(540) 231 - 6736
Serials Unit Head
Collections Processing Team Leader
ILS and Discovery Librarian
Collection Strategist and Assessment Coordinator
Dick and Jean Quible