Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jean Russell Quible Department of Collections and Technical Services: Collections Assessment Procedures

Usage Statistics

The Collections Assessment Team (CAT) supports Collection Management by providing the necessary usage statistics data used for collection development and analysis.  The data is used for effective decision making concerning the acquisition, renewal, and retention of the Library’s electronic resources.

CAT collects usage statistics for electronic journals and journal packages, e-books, databases, and multimedia resources.  Statistics are collected through various platforms including vendor portals, websites, and through emails. The data is then stored and maintained on the University Libraries shared Google drive.

The Google shared drive is comprised of several Collection and Technical Services (CTS) folders, and usage statistics are stored within the Collection and Technical Services, Collection Management folder (cts_coll_mgt). 

Strategic Plans

View the University Libraries 18-Month Implementation Plan for January 2012 thru June 2018.

Electronic Resources

COUNTER

COUNTER is an acronym which stands for Counting Online Usage of NeTworked Electronic Resources. The COUNTER Code of Practice for e-Resources facilitates the recording, exchange and interpretation of online usage data for journals, databases, e-books, and multimedia resources. COUNTER is designed for librarians and vendors who require online usage statistics.

Whenever available, COUNTER statistics are preferred and collected.  These measurements enable librarians to compare statistics from different vendors, and to make better informed purchasing and collection management decisions. The usage information and services measured using the COUNTER Codes of Practice are deemed more reliable and consistent than other forms of usage measurements. 

Release 4 of the COUNTER Code of Practice for e-Resources was implemented December 31, 2013. All COUNTER compliant vendors should provide usage statistics that conform to this release. 

Non-COUNTER Usage Reports

Not all vendors provide COUNTER compliant usage statistics. Many vendors provide usage statistics in a non-COUNTER format either through their main website or through monthly email notifications.

When non-COUNTER compliant usage statistics are received we convert this non-standard format into a COUNTER format. It is important however to make sure that what is being counted in the non-standard format is equivalent to the COUNTER format. 

Not all vendors provide COUNTER compliant usage statistics. Many vendors provide usage statistics in a non-COUNTER format either through their main website or through monthly email notifications.

When non-COUNTER compliant usage statistics are received we convert this non-standard format into a COUNTER format. It is important however to make sure that what is being counted in the non-standard format is equivalent to the COUNTER format. 

Collection Management Timeline

January

  • Download COUNTER reports for previous calendar year (Jan – Dec).

February

  • Re-assess firm order allocations of current spending rates and overall budget

March

  • Consolidate COUNTER reports for the previous calendar year into one large file

April

  • Complete survey – US News & World Report

May

  • Firm order funds should be nearly 100% encumbered by May 15

June

July

 

  • Download COUNTER reports for January – June
  • Determine and provide new firm order allocations to subject liaisons
  • ​Download EBSCO invoices and begin verifying subscriptions

August

  • Compile COUNTER statistics for the fiscal year (July – June).
  • Compile cost/per use for database
  • ​Review EBSCO renewals

September

  • Complete survey – ARL stats based on fiscal year usage statistics.
  • ​Firm order funds should be 30% encumbered.

October

  • Journal invoices posted late October
  • ​ARL survey deadline mid-October  

November

  • Professional Development
  • Small Projects

December

  • Prepare for January full year stats collections