University Libraries


Bullet A to Z indexBullet Library staff

HNFE - Internship - Nutrition & Dietetics: Getting Started

Research resources and services of interest to HNFE Nutrition & Dietetics interns.

Tips for Using Library Resources

This guide will walk you through the resources and services of use to HNFE Interns in the Nutrition & Dietetics Internship, including: accessing, searching, and using research resources.

Access the VT University Libraries website here:  http://www.lib.vt.edu/

Northern Virginia Center Resource Center also has a website: https://www.lib.vt.edu/nvc/ 

Image of a film projector   Watch a brief Overview of the University Libraries Home Page (3 minutes 35 seconds)

 

A few tips to get you started:

1.  Don't be afraid to ask for assistance.  Simply contact your librarian directly ------------------------> 

2.  If you're doing research from off campus, you may be prompted to sign in with your PID and password to access full text of subscription content (like Web of Science research database, online journal articles, ebooks, etc.). See the LibX Toolbar / Browser Extension optionGoogle Scholar Settings, and PubMed Settings options to get the most GetVText full text linking options when using free or open access (non-subscription) research tools.

3.  If you are a remote intern, working at a location outside of Blacksburg, find out about VT Libraries Services for Distance Researchers

3.  Use Summon to conduct a Google-like search of most of our library resources.  While it's not a disciplinary database, like the ones that I recommend to you on this guide, it can help you gain a broad overview of a particular research topic or question.  

4.  When searching Summon, Google Scholar, or any of the databases that I recommend, break your research question into keywords, rather than typing in the entire sentence or question.  Click here to read more about strategies for creating good keyword searches.  

5.  Use this guide's Recommended Databases tab, the HNFE Subject Guide, or look through the full research database list. to identify relevant databases. 

6.  When trying to access articles and other resources, look for the Get VText box:

 

7.  Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Service - for journal articles, book chapters (even if we own a copy), books, and more that VT does not own or subscribe to, don't pay to access research sources you need - use Illiad to request materials for free.

Additional VT Resources

1.  Writing Center - "We work with writing and reading assignments from any course in the University. We can also help you with writing projects that are not linked to classes."

------> For Northern Virginia Students: Writing support available via Skype, by appointment only. Email the Writing Center (writingcenter@vt.eduto make an appointment.

2.  Lynda - Software Tutorials and Training - "Lynda.com is your one stop shop for online tutorials and training in a variety of software suites and programs. Access is free to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff."

3. LISA - Laboratory for Interdisciplinary Statistical Analysis - "We provide statistical advice, analysis, and education to Virginia Tech researchers by offering individual collaboration meetings, walk-in consulting, educational short courses, and support for interdisciplinary research projects."

Welcome to VT University Libraries!

Get started with a short (3 min 35 sec) overview of the VT University Libraries website including quick links to specialized research resources, library hours, and subject / course library guides (video description via YouTube). Video direct link: https://youtu.be/aWxXr619yV0.

UPDATE TO THIS VIDEO: The Off-Campus-Sign-In Button is no longer needed - now all subscription databases and sources automatically connect via VT PID and Password sign-in from Off Campus (on campus, you won't even be asked to sign-in).

*See the LibX Toolbar / Browser Extension optionGoogle Scholar Settings, and PubMed Settings options to get the most GetVText full text linking options when using free or open access (non-subscription) research tools.

Profile

Ginny Pannabecker
Contact:
vpannabe@vt.edu
Newman Library, Room 4062
540-231-7980

Office Hours are Flexible:
Contact me to arrange an appointment at: vpannabe@vt.edu

Subjects: Biology, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, Biomedical Engineering, Human Nutrition Food & Exercise, Medicine, Neuroscience, Population Health Sciences (Public Health), Psychology, Systems Biology
Skype Contact
depository library