PSYC 1094: Principles of Psychology Research - Recommended Resources
Welcome to the PSYC 1094, Principles of Psychology Research course library guide from VT University Libraries! This guide is intended to provide you with key resources for Psychology research that will be useful in general, and for your course assignments. Please contact me anytime with questions, or to set up a project consultation - for yourself individually, or for groups.
Library Workshop Slides for PSYC 1094
VT University Libraries Home - services, resources, hours, more.
Use the Psychology Subject Guide for additional Psychology-specific resources.
PsycInfo - Psychology Scholarly Research Database
- PsycINFO from EBSCOhostPsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhostThe Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- Psychology Subject GuideMore resources, databases, and tools available on this guide.
PsycTherapy - Videos of Therapy Sessions
- PsycTHERAPY from EBSCOhostPsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists.
PsycTests - Tests & Measures for Psychology Research
Tests & Measures are frequently used in Psychology research. PsycTests is a useful research to explore primarily unpublished tests (often including the full text of the test itself). Information regarding validity and reliability of tests is included as well. PsycInfo (above in Scholarly Research Databases) is another great place to look for test information in scholarly works that used them, though the full test is often not available there.
APA: Finding Information About Psychological Tests
*Contact me, Rachel Miles, your liaison librarian, for assistance in searching for tests (contact info on the right side of this page). I'm available via email, in-person consultations, phone, or online meetings.
See the Psychology Subject Library Guide for further resources to identify Tests and Measures for Psychology research.
- PsycTESTS from EBSCOhostPsycTESTS indexes psychological tests, with the full text of the test available in most cases. Test instruments available in HTML and PDF.
APA Citation Resources
- APA Tutorial: The Basics of APA StyleOfficial APA tutorial: Skim through for what you need or watch it all!
- APA Style - Owl at PurdueThis guide covers basics of APA and gives examples for you to follow easily.
- APA Sample PaperSample paper in APA format with title page, sections, references, and appendix.
- This quick reference guide demonstrates how to cite journal articles, books, and chapters from edited books in the APA 7th edition reference list.