Infant, Child, & Family Nutrition Resources: Home
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
- History of Food & Drink Manuscript Collections
- Digitized Manuscript Collections
- Digitized Books
- What's Cookin' @Special Collections (blog)
- About the History of Food & Drink collecting area
- History of Food & Drink LibGuide
- Infant, Child, & Family Nutrition Resources LibGuide
- Cocktail History in America LibGuide
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our digital collections
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
So You Want to Learn About Infant, Child, & Family Nutrition Resources...
Special Collections and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech are home to a significant collection of books, manuscripts, and other resources relating to the history of food and drink and their role in our culture. You can read more about the collection on the "History of Food & Drink Materials" tab of this guide or on the Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond) LibGuide. We also blog about the collection at What's Cookin' @Special Collections?!.
Although the History of Food & Drink collecting area focuses on a number of different areas, one of the foci is infant and children's cookbooks and nutrition literature. This subset of materials includes cookbooks for children, cookbooks for adults that consist primarily of recipes for children, storybooks that feature food, household management guides, child-rearing advice manuals, state and national extension publications, ephemera that is related to children (advertisements, puzzles, menus, booklets), and nutrition and dietetic manuals.
This guide contains information about resources that are available through the University Libraries and has help for locating materials in Special Collections and University Archives and Newman Library. It also includes links to digital collections in Special Collections and University Archives and at other institutions. We encourage you to read through and see what you might find--you never know where your research might take you! And if you don't find what you are looking for and need assistance, contact Special Collections and University Archives (our contact info is on the bottom left of every page in the guide)--we're here to help!
Please note: This guide is primarily focused on materials housed in Special Collections and University Archives and/or materials that are part of the History of Food and Drink materials, with a few exceptions. The library also has a great "Recommended Resources" subject guide for Human nutrition, food and exercise research, as well.
Check out a few images from books in our collection!
University Libraries (0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Newman Library, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061