Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The "Online Resources" tab of the guide includes three sections: "Digital/Digitized Collections," "Online Research Tools & Resource Guides," and "Articles & Online Publications."
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
About Special Collections
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project, Michigan State University
The Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes page images of 76 cookbooks from the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. This site also features a glossary of cookery terms and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.
The Making of America, Cornell University
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Playing House: Homemaking for Children, Human Ecology Collection, University of Wisconsin-Madison
American domestic advice or homemaking manuals emerged in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries and served to advise the housewife in the care and upkeep of the home and its contents and occupants. While most of these manuals were written to assist the “woman of the house”, others aimed at educating young girls, the homemakers of the future. This collection includes digitized versions of books from the UW-Madison collections spanning 1877 to the 1930’s. These books provide instruction on a wide range of topics including cooking, cleaning, laundry, household management and occupational training for young maids. Through them, young girls could learn among other things, the proper way to make a bed, polish the silver, decorate a table, and prepare and serve a nice meal.
Digitized Book Collection, Special Collections at Virginia Tech,
The History of Food and Drink collecting area includes more than 200 books in the public domain which have been digitized and are available at Special Collections Online, our digital platform. Many of these books relate to household (and family) management, dietetics, and nutrition.
Cookbooks and Home Economics, Internet Archive
The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.
USDA Farmers' Bulletins, University of North Texas
This site includes more than 1,800 books and pamphlets published by the USDA between the 1880s and 1980s. They related to foods, home economics, and agriculture. There are a many titles relating to children.
Online Research Tools & Resource Guides
Center for Human Nutrition, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
This site includes a list of agencies, organizations. and programs involved in nutrition research.
Directory of History of Medicine Collections, National Library of Medicine
The collections described in this Directory database provide research and reference services to scholars interested in the history of the health sciences. Some of the subjects include: dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, military medicine, and pharmacy. While the Directory is by no means exhaustive, it serves to draw attention to the depth and variety of history of medicine collections available to researchers. In the future, we expect that more institutions will wish to be included.
The Food Timeline
The Food Timeline was created by Lynne Olver, reference librarian with a passion for food history. Information is checked against standard reference tools for accuracy. All sources are cited for research purposes. As with most historical topics, there are some conflicting stories in the field of food history.
As of 2021, this resource is managed by Virginia Tech University Libraries.
OCLC WorldCat Cookbook Finder
Cookbook Finder is an experimental, works-based application that provides access to thousands of cookbooks and other works about food and nutrition described in WorldCat records. You can search by Dewey, person, place, topic (e.g., course, ingredient, method and more) and browse related works by author and topic.
Articles & Online Publications