Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historically Marginalized Communities Resources: Home

This guide includes information about which Special Collections and University Archives holdings contain materials about the history of historically marginalized communities.

Note

Additional pages are under construction that will highlight our materials about the Black/African American, Disability, Indigenous American, and Latinx communities as well as pages about religious diversity and Women.

About this Guide

This site includes Special Collections and University Archives resources related to the following topics:

  • Appalachian History
  • Asian/Asian-American History
  • Black/African American History
  • Disability History
  • Indigenous, Native American, and American Indian History
  • Latinx History
  • LGBTQ+ History
  • History of Religious Diversity
  • Women's History

You'll also find links to other academic and research organizations with significant collections about these topics.

If you have questions about the collections, locating resources, need help with a project, or just want to see some interesting or unique items, feel free to contact me.

What we collect about traditionally marginalized communities

We actively collect new material about these topics:

  • American Civil War
  • History of Food and Drink
  • History of Women and the Built Environment
  • Local/Regional History and the Appalachian South
  • Science and Technology History
  • University History

In addition, we have inactive collecting areas including:

  • British and American Literature
  • Heraldry and Military History

You might notice that the topics covered by this guide are mostly not in this list of collecting areas. The only one that appears explicitly is Women's History appearing in the form "History of Women and the Built Environment." This is because we don't have a subject focus on the history of traditionally marginalized communities. There are other archives that have that focus and do an excellent job. In order for us to collect material about one of these traditionally marginalized communities, it needs to fit within one of the topics listed above.

Here are some examples of materials we collect and why they are in our collections.

Gary Ann Giovanni Culinary Papers, 1997-2004 (Ms2006-011)
Papers of Gary Ann Giovanni, a chef, caterer and cooking teacher active in Blacksburg, Virginia.
This collection relates to the topics of Black History and Women's History.
It fits within our collecting areas focused on the History of Food and Drink and Local/Regional History and the Appalachian South.
RFD. HQ75 .R43 Spec Large.
This magazine has included many tag lines over the years including "A country journal for gay men everywhere" and "A reader created gay quarterly celebrating queer diversity".
This magazine relates to the topic of LGBTQ+ History.
It fits within our collecting area focused on Local/Regional History and the Appalachian South.

Locating Materials in Special Collections and University Archives

Manuscript Collections

We have about 900 manuscript collections related to one or more of the traditionally marginalized communities covered in this guide. You can view the finding aids for these collections through Virginia Heritage, a state-wide search tool. To limit your search to Virginia Tech materials, select "Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University" from the Repository drop-down. Then, enter your keywords and click search.

Books

All of our books relating to these communities can be found using the library's catalog. Some of these books are in Special Collections and University Archives, but many are also in the circulating collection. If you are looking generally for materials about these populations, you can use a variety of search terms such as "African American", "LGBTQ", or "Latin American" in the Keyword form. Suggested search terms for each group are included on the appropriate page of this guide.

Online

Special Collections and University Archives has some material in our online collections related to these communities. You can find these items on Special Collections and University Archives Online. The site includes a search box in the upper right corner where you can search using keywords to locate materials related to a specific community or communities.

Community Collections Archivist

Profile Photo
Anthony Wright de Hernandez
he/him/his they/them/theirs
Contact:
Community Collections Archivist
Special Collections and University Archives (0434)

About Special Collections and University Archives

Hours

Special Collections and University Archives is currently open Monday-Friday from 8am to 5pm.

Appointments are not required, but strongly encouraged (**see below)

Appointments can be made by visiting the SCUA Seat Reservation page (instructions are included on this page)

Virtual reference help remains available at specref@vt.edu or by phone at 540-231-6308

**By making an appointment, you will help us limit the number of researchers using our Reading Room at any one time for health and safety; guarantee you a seat at the requested time; and help us plan for your visit, for example, making sure the materials needed are on site and available.

Connect with us

Email: specref@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

​Find us online

Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuides

Land Acknowledgement & Labor Recognition

Virginia Tech acknowledges that we live and work on the Tutelo / Monacan People’s homeland and we recognize their continued relationships with their lands and waterways. We further acknowledge that legislation and practices like the Morrill Act (1862) enabled the commonwealth of Virginia to finance and found Virginia Tech through the forced removal of Native Nations from their lands, both locally and in western territories.

We understand that honoring Native Peoples without explicit material commitments falls short of our institutional responsibilities. Through sustained, transparent, and meaningful engagement with the Tutelo / Monacan Peoples, and other Native Nations, we commit to changing the trajectory of Virginia Tech's history by increasing Indigenous student, staff, and faculty recruitment and retention, diversifying course offerings, and meeting the growing needs of all Virginia tribes and supporting their sovereignty.

We must also recognize that enslaved Black people generated revenue and resources used to establish Virginia Tech and were prohibited from attending until 1953. Through InclusiveVT, the institutional and individual commitment to Ut Prosim (that I may serve) in the spirit of community, diversity, and excellence, we commit to advancing a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community.