Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historically Marginalized Communities Resources: LGBTQ+

This guide includes information about which Special Collections and University Archives holdings contain materials about the history of historically marginalized communities.

LGBTQ+ means Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and more. The acronym LGBTQ+ is the one in common usage at Virginia Tech, so it is the form used in this guide.

Our collections include a variety of material related to LGBTQ+ history at Virginia Tech and in the Appalachian South.

Note: Much of LGBTQ+ History at Virginia Tech has not been documented by official sources and much of this history has not been donated to Special Collections and University Archives. Many of the existing organizations at Virginia Tech were founded relatively recently and historical records about them are not yet available.

Suggested books & manuscripts in Special Collections and University Archives

Online resources

Rainbow flag with colors from top to bottom: black, brown, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple

Rainbow flag variation introduced in June 2017 by the city of Philadelphia.

Suggested search terms

  • LGBT
  • LGBTQ
  • LGBT+
  • LGBTQ+
  • Lesbian / Lesbians
  • Gay / Gays
  • Bisexual / Bisexuals
  • Transgender / Transgender people
  • Intersex
  • Non-binary
  • Gender fluid
  • Queer
  • Lavender
  • Pride

There are many more possible search terms depending on the specific part of the LGBTQ+ community about which you are seeking information. Any of the terms on this list might be useful in crafting your search.

About Special Collections and University Archives

Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Connect with us
Email: specref@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA

​Find us online
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuides

Profile Photo
Anthony Wright de Hernandez
he/him/his they/them/theirs
Contact:
Community Collections Archivist
Special Collections and University Archives (0434)