Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical primary sources online: F. Special Collections Online

Multipart guide to VT Libraries' many digital archives, whether based on types of sources or thematic collections.

Special Collections Online

General Information

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Website: http://spec.lib.vt.edu
Blogs:http://vtspecialcollections.wordpress.com/
and https://whatscookingvt.wordpress.com


Staff

Aaron Purcell, Director, Special Collections and University Archives
Marc Brodsky, Public Services and Reference Archivist
Kira Dietz, Assistant Director, Special Collections and University Archives [appointment calendar]
Jeff Flanagan, Project Archivist
Ren Harman, Oral History Projects Archivist/Project Manager, VT Stories
John Jackson, Archives Assistant
Alan Munshower, Digital Collections Archivist
Bess Pittman, Project Archivist
LM Rozema, Processing and Special Projects Archivist
Jade Snelling, Collections Archivist
Anthony Wright de Hernandez, Community Collections Archivist
[vacant], University Archivist (please contact specref@vt.edu)

Special Collections and University Archives Online

Special Collections and University Archives Online is our Omeka platform for digital content. Though still a bit quirky (in 2019), the site does provide digital images of collections or significant parts of collections, as well as digital exhibits based on materials held in Special Collections and University Archives. With links to a collection's finding aid, these digital versions of collections will also be indicated in the finding aids themselves.