Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical primary sources online: Virginia Tech Resources

Multipart guide to VT Libraries' many digital archives, whether based on types of sources or thematic collections.

Data Provided by University Libraries

  • Fire Insurance Maps (FIMo)
    Welcome to Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo), a research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.

  • GeoData
    GeoData is a discovery tool managed by University Libraries for geospatial data procured and curated by University Libraries Geospatial Data Consultant. The data that can be found in GeoData will consist not only of datasets purchased as a part of the Libraries collection, but also data created and collected at Virginia Tech.

  • LandScan Global Population Database 
    (Only Virginia Tech faculty, staff, students, and on-site public users can access this database) 
    LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24-hour period. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models. 2011-2014.

  • PolicyMap
    Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.

  • Social Explorer
    Award winning demographic data visualization and research website designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports.

  • SimplyAnalytics
    Leading provider of analytics, data visualization, spatial analysis, and GIS software to educational institutions, non-profit organizations, businesses and government agencies.

Data Provided by other Virginia Tech Units

  • Facilities GIS Data (Virginia Tech)
    Virginia Tech Facilities Dept. maintains geographic information systems (GIS) data for the university. The Virginia Tech Libraries has entered into a partnership with Facilities to distribute some of their most commonly requested gis layers: vt basemap, boundary, buildings, 5ft. contours, roads centerlines & parcels. Only Virginia Tech employees can access the data from a university IP address. To download these layers, please connect to the University Libraries Geo-Data geospatial portal. For any other campus VT Facilities geospatial data, please go to the VT Facilities website (https://www.facilities.vt.edu/buildings-space/gis-information.html).

  • Geospatial Archive Resource and Data Exchange Network (GARDEN)
    GARDEN is a federation of universities across the state that serve as “mirror” sites for geospatial data resources produced by VGIN. At present, the primary dataset includes the entire collection of aerial imagery flown through the Virginia Base Mapping Program (VBMP) since 2002. Through this program, we gain unencumbered access to the aerial imagery resources used as standard base maps across the academic disciplines. Users of this system now have direct access to the imagery services, as well as documentation explaining how to incorporate them into both web mapping applications and desktop GIS software clients. 

  • Virginia View
    Virginia View is a statewide consortium for cultivation state and local applications of satellite remote sensing through education, research, and geospatial applications.

Geospatial Data Consultant

Profile Photo
Ed Brooks
Contact:
Room 3020 Newman Library

Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, Va. 24061
(540) 231-9225

Data Request