Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical primary sources online: Searching, citing and engaging literatures

Multipart guide to VT Libraries' many digital archives, whether based on types of sources or thematic collections.

What's on this page

This page is divided into sections devoted to Bruce Pencek's handouts on planning and doing effective, efficient searching; guidance on citations and ethical use of others' work (including some video tutorials and links to Tech's honor codes); and effective scholarly communication.  (For sources of help from library vendors  see  the How do I...?" tab, above.)

How-to handouts and video sabout sytematic, effective lit-searching

Think of these as lecture notes for what Bruce Pencek said (tried to say... meant to say... should have said... ) in class or a research consultation. 

Become a goal-directed, situationally aware searcher

Bruce Pencek's system of search techniques to discover and acquire relevant research sources efficiently -- so you can manage your time and effort. 

Handouts

I. When to search "the literature"... for the feasibility of the research plan, for primary and secondary sources relevant to the research question, and for making sure you've covered all bases on your answer to your question when you write your paper.

II. Situationally aware (re)searching. We suffer from too much information.  So identifying your goal, planning ahead, and then applying what you learn in each stage are vital to research success.  This handout offers prompts and a sequence of stages -- and the appropriate tools for each -- to keep your research on target.

III. Operationalize and organize. A one-page grid framework for laying our your search as part of your research design, aligned with social science concerns for identifying concepts/variables, relationships, explanations, and evidence.

IV. Get tactical. Tips to give you better search results in less time.

  • What's the use of Discovery Search?  Pencek's take on the special uses and disadvantages of VT Libraries' third generation Discovery Search (aka WorldCat Discovery) and similar systems.
  • What kind of "article" am I looking at?  Some pointers for when you encounter things that look like articles so you can decide if they are appropriate for your project.  Compares characteristics, content, and information timelines for sorting out popular, trade, and academic publications.
  • Bibliographic speed dating. Illustrates use of overlooked search history (aka recent searches) functions in many subject databases to speed you through finding sources relevant to  your  research question. 
  • Search faster using insiders' power words. Quickly find relevant books and some articles using this list of "inside libraries" keywords in VT  Discovery Search, library catalogs, and even article databases if they use Library of Congress subject headings.
  • You can't search NEAR enough: "proximity" searching.  Reduce noisy results in full-text databases (and Google) by using the precise  NEAR command (and its relatives) instead of the noisy Boolean AND. Includes table of proximity syntax for several database and publisher platforms.

Video modules

(Re)search planning
Research, and thus literature searching, is planned, guided by a hunch that your work will test. Here are some considerations about planning your (re)search before you plunge into library tools.  Slide deck.   Related handouts:

Power Searching Subject Databases
Walk through using subject-oriented databases in the VT Libraries -- the most important tools and efficient tools for finding academic literature. Example illustrates the ProQuest platform specifically (using Worldwide Political Science Abstracts), it but refers when appropriate to similar functions in EbscoHost databases.  Slide deck.  Related handouts: 

Factiva for global news
Introduction to searching the large, powerful Factiva database of global news reporting.   Slide deck.  Related handout applies to most historical news archives as well:

Odyssey, our "learning object repository," offers a growing list of how-to videos and handouts, about the mechanics of using Virginia Tech Libraries' digital and physical resources, including

 

Orient yourself -- alternative map to VT Libraries website In case you get lost in the various platforms mashed together in the library's online presence.

Fine print: Pencek's handouts are published in this guide under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license. So you can adapt, slice, and dice the files for reuse, provided that you give me appropriate credit, provide a link to the Creative Commons license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests that Bruce Pencek endorses you or your (re)use of his content.

Literature Reviews

Annotated Bibliography Resources

Research impact and publication

Virginia Tech's University Libraries supports participation in the scholarly conversation at every stage of the research life cycle, from planning to publishing (including journals and proceedings we host) to curation and archiving ... and even records management services for university units.

Manage your professional identity and impact
Publish strategically

Citation help: acknowledging others' work

Underneath good citations are good practices to manage your notes and evidence (qualitative or quantitative alike). Data management plans, long required by most major funders in STEM research grants, are increasingly expected for empirical social science and interdisciplinary humanities funded research as well.

Scholars working in those domains will find are some good tips in  Data management plans for historians: How to document and protect your research by Susan L. Collins, a librarian at Carnegie Mellon University. (Perspectives on History, October 2017).

Basics
Citing books, articles, and other documents
Citing data
Fair use for instructors

Honor Codes at Virginia Tech

Virginia Tech upholds the principles of academic and professional integrity through several honor systems. Expectations, procedures and penalties depend on the affiliation of the student.

Outside the realm of academic integrity, the university’s Student Code of Conduct sets standards of behavior for students at all levels and lays out procedures for dealing with violations.