Collection management policies and guidelines
The University Libraries at Virginia Tech were designated as a selective federal depository for the ninth congressional district in 1907. We are one of three depositories in the district; the others are the University of Virginia's College at Wise and Emory & Henry University.
The State Plan for the federal depositories of Virginia is available on the Virginia Regional Depository website.
We have a strong documents collection including long runs of agency annual reports, complete sets of agricultural series, and strong collections in education, health, business, transportation, military history, and census. In addition, the libraries have purchased microform backup sets of the United States Congressional Serial Set, Congressional publications, Census records, and statistical publications. The libraries purchase the necessary commercial indexes, including an online version of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications and other electronic indexes to provide access to our collections.
Access to the Government Documents collection
The Virginia Tech Library is dedicated to the ideals of Title 44 USC to provide free access to federal government publications, regardless of format, to the general public. Please see the Service Policy for Access to Government Information in Electronic Format and Internet Use.
We are open to the general public. Anyone can use the building, government documents and map collections, print and online indexes, and available workstations any time the library is open. No advance registration is needed to use the library facilities and no special logins or passwords are needed to use the workstations.
All items in the government documents collection except those labeled reference or non-circulating may be checked out. Maps circulate on a limited basis. Check at the Reference Desk for the maps lending policy.
Circulation and reserve use privileges are extended to adults with a Virginia Driver's License or Virginia Identification Card and in-state address and phone number. Borrowing privileges may be extended to a minor with the permission of a parent or guardian. The appropriate form is available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk, Newman Library. Please refer to borrowing privileges to determine your patron status and circulation privileges.
Interlibrary Loan services are available for research purposes to all Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff regardless of location. We are unable to provide Interlibrary Loan services for individuals not affiliated with Virginia Tech. Government documents are available for loan from the University Libraries.
All original content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. 3rd-party content including, but not limited to images and linked items, are subject to their own license terms.
- Last Updated: Oct 25, 2022 11:01 AM
- URL: https://guides.lib.vt.edu/collection-management
- Print Page