Governor's School for Agriculture: 2024: Childhood
Obesity
Welcome! This guide is designed to help you find information for your research topics and projects that you'll be working on for the next couple of weeks. Please feel free to contact any of the librarians listed on this page for help!
Recommended databases
A few general databases to start your search include:
- Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most full-text content 1980s-present. - Opposing Viewpoints In Context from GaleOpposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.
- Discovery Searchis a fairly comprehensive tool to search for resources the library offers in electronic and physical formats.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar limits the results to materials that are considered to be "scholarly" in nature, meaning it will contain peer-reviewed sources, as well as credible reports from other well-respected entities.
Databases that are more specific, but that also have more technical articles and sources include:
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
- PubAgPubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. The Library will add about 20,000 citations each month.