Governor's School for Agriculture: 2024: Sustainable Bioenergy

Welcome! This guide is designed to help you find information for your research topics and projects that you'll be working on for the next couple of weeks. Please feel free to contact any of the librarians listed on this page for help!

Recommended databases

A few general databases to start your search include:

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most full-text content 1980s-present.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context from Gale
Opposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Discovery Search
is a fairly comprehensive tool to search for resources the library offers in electronic and physical formats.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar limits the results to materials that are considered to be "scholarly" in nature, meaning it will contain peer-reviewed sources, as well as credible reports from other well-respected entities.

Databases that are more specific, but that also have more technical articles and sources include:

Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Compendex (1884-present) indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec (1898-present) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. Knovel provides ebooks on engineering and related subjects.
Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

PubAg
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. The Library will add about 20,000 citations each month.

To find additional information from other subject areas that may overlap with your topic, check out our subject guides for other database recommendations:

Subject guides

Ask a Librarian

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2024 12:21 PM
Print Page