Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Education: Grantees Showcase

A "getting started" guide overviewing open, editable, and lower-cost textbooks and open teaching & learning resources for faculty, students, and librarians.

Andrew Binks - Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students (2022)

Cover of Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students by Andrew Binks Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of common cardiovascular diseases, disorders and pathologies. This text is designed for a course pre-clinical undergraduate medical curriculum and it is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these content areas in a concise format that would allow learner preparation to engage in an active classroom. Clinical correlates and additional application of content is intended to be provided in the classroom experience. The text assumes that the students will have an understanding of basic cardiovascular physiology that will be helpful to understand the content presented here. This resource should be assistive to the learner later in medical school and for exam preparation given the material is presented in a succinct manner, with a focus on high-yield concepts.

View this book in PDF, [ePub coming soon], Pressbooks (HTML), LibreTexts or order a Print on Demand copy [coming soon.] Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting parts or the whole of the text are requested to register their interest at: https://bit.ly/interest-preclinical.

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

(VTX 4 March 2022) Open Medical Textbook series offer curriculum flexibility for faculty and cost savings for students

(Open@VT 7 April 2022) New Open Textbook: Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students by Andrew Binks

 

Eric Raymond Johnson - Aerospace Structures (2022)

   Aerospace Structures by Eric Raymond Johnson is a 600+ page text and reference book for junior, senior, and graduate-level aerospace engineering students. The text begins with a discussion of the aerodynamic and inertia loads acting on aircraft in symmetric flight and presents a linear theory for the statics and dynamic response of thin-walled straight bars with closed and open cross-sections. Isotropic and fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composite materials including temperature effects are modeled with Hooke’s law. Methods of analyses are by differential equations, Castigliano’s theorems, the direct stiffness method, the finite element method, and Lagrange’s equations. There are numerous examples for the response of axial bars, beams, coplanar trusses, coplanar frames, and coplanar curved bars. Failure initiation by the von Mises yield criterion, buckling, wing divergence, fracture, and by Puck’s criterion for FRP composites are presented in the examples.

View this book in PDF, [ePub, LaTeX sourcefiles, and print coming soon]. |  Interactive problem sets to accompany the book are available here. Professors, if you are reviewing this book for adoption in your course, please let us know here. Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting parts or the whole of the text are especially encouraged to sign up.

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

New Open Textbook: Aerospace Structures by Eric Raymond Johnson - blog post (31 March 2022)

Donna Westfall-Rudd - Teaching in the University (2022)

  Teaching in the University: Learning from Graduate Students and Early Career Faculty provides insight and strategies for successful teaching, advising, and mentoring postsecondary students. In particular, the authors offer support and encouragement for implementing student-centered teaching practices relevant to college classrooms. This book is designed for new university teaching faculty and graduate teaching assistants looking for innovative teaching resources.

As an Open Educational Resource (OER), this textbook provides university instructors free access to high-quality teaching materials based on the experiences of fellow new instructors. Twenty contributors and two co-editors from the current students and alumni of university teaching scholars programs offer this resource for fellow faculty and graduate students to improve instruction and engagement. Each chapter comes from the experiences and expertise of these talented individuals who speak directly to their peers. 

View this book in PDF and ePub, Pressbooks (HTML), and order a softcover print version. Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting this textbook for a course, please help us understand your use by filling out this form http://bit.ly/teaching-interest.

License: CC BY NC 4.0

IN THE NEWS

(Open@VT March 1, 2022) New open textbook: Teaching in the University: Learning from Graduate Students and Early Career Faculty.

(VTX March 2, 2022) College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Virginia Tech Publishing announce a new open textbook

Renee LeClair - Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students (2022)

book cover Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students covers neuroenergetics, neurotransmitters, neuropeptides, and selected amino acid metabolism and degradation. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a first-year undergraduate medical course and is meant to provide the essential biochemical information from these content areas in a concise format to enable students to engage in an active classroom. Hence, it does not cover neurophysiology and neuroanatomy; and clinical correlates and additional application of content are intended to be provided in the classroom experience. The text assumes that the students will have completed medical school prerequisites (including the MCAT) in which they will have been introduced to the most fundamental concepts of biology and chemistry that are essential to understand the content presented here. With its focus on high-yield concepts, this resource will assist the learner later in medical school and for exam preparation. The 49-page text was created specifically for use by pre-clinical students at Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and was based on faculty experience and peer review to guide development and hone important topics.

View this book in PDF and ePubPressbooks (HTML), and LibreTexts. | Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting parts or the whole of the text are requested to register their interest at: https://bit.ly/interest-preclinical.

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

(Open@VT February 2, 2022) Announcing New Open Textbook: Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students by Renee LeClair 

(VTX 4 March 2022) Open Medical Textbook series offer curriculum flexibility for faculty and cost savings for students

Renee LeClair - Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students (2021)

Grey book cover has maroon band with plus sign and double helix in addition to title and author name.  Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge across the disciplines of genetics, cell biology and biochemistry. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a course in first-year undergraduate medical course that is delivered typically before students start to explore systems physiology and pathophysiology. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these content areas in a concise format that would allow learner preparation to engage in an active classroom. Clinical correlates and additional application of content is intended to be provided in the classroom experience. The text assumes that the students will have completed medical school prerequisites (including the MCAT) in which they will have been introduced to the most fundamental concepts of biology and chemistry that are essential to understand the content presented here. This resource should be assistive to the learner later in medical school and for exam preparation given the material is presented in a succinct manner, with a focus on high-yield concepts. The 276-page text was created specifically for use by pre-clinical students at Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and was based on faculty experience and peer review to guide development and hone important topics.

View this book in PDF and ePub, Pressbooks (HTML), ePub, and LibreTexts. | Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting parts or the whole of the text are requested to register their interest at: https://bit.ly/interest-preclinical.

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

(Open@VT December 6, 2021) Announcing New Open Textbook: Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students by Renee LeClair

(VTX 4 March 2022) Open Medical Textbook series offer curriculum flexibility for faculty and cost savings for students

Jordan Rosin and Heidi Winters Vogel - Storytelling on Screen: An Online Playback Theatre Archive and Guidebook (2021)

Storytelling on Screen coverPlayback Theatre is a form of community-centered storytelling theater where the audience tells stories, which are then reflected by a company of actors and musicians. Storytelling on Screen: An Online Playback Theatre Archive and Guidebook by Jordan Rosin and Heidi Winters Vogel with Sammy Lebron is an open education resource consisting of a collection of full-length recordings of online Playback Theatre performances, and a 55-page explanatory guidebook. The guidebook, featuring a foreword by Playback Theatre co-founder, Jo Salas, explains the adaptation to online performances and some of the key concepts, roles, and forms involved in online Playback Theatre. The resource as a whole is suitable for a wide range of theatre students in courses such as applied theatre, theatre for social justice, improvisation, theatre appreciation, or acting. The guidebook contains hyperlinks to specific sections of the archive where students can see a given form or concept in action, allowing for a comparison of how different companies approach a given form. The following performances included in The Archive are linked within The Guidebook and are also available in VTechWorks and YouTube.

View this work in PDF. | If you are an artist, educator, or theatre-maker using this resource, please help us understand your use by filling out this form https://bit.ly/playback_interest

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

Open@VT (October 9, 2021) Announcing Storytelling on Screen: An Online Theatre Archive and Guidebook 

James M. Marchman III - Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd edition (2021)

                cover of Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance 3rd             Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance, 3rd edition (c) 2004, 2021, is a 236-page college undergraduate-level introduction to aircraft aerodynamics and performance. This text is designed for a course in Aircraft Performance that is taught before the students have had any course in fluid mechanics, fluid dynamics, or aerodynamics. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these types of courses that is needed for teaching basic subsonic aircraft performance, and it is assumed that the students will learn the full story of aerodynamics in other, later courses. The text assumes that the students will have had a university level Physics sequence in which they will have been introduced to the most fundamental concepts of statics, dynamics, fluid mechanics, and basic conservation laws that are needed to understand the coverage that follows. It is also assumed that students will have completed first year university level calculus sequence plus a course in multi-variable calculus. Separate courses in engineering statics and dynamics are helpful but not necessary. Any student who takes a course using this text after completing courses in aerodynamics or fluid dynamics should find the chapters of this book covering those subjects an interesting review of the material.

View the WebPDF and ePub versions  |  View the accessible Pressbooks version | Instructors reviewing, adopting, or adapting parts or the whole of the text are requested to register their interest at: https://bit.ly/aerodynamics_interest.  Instructors and subject matter experts interested in collaborating to update, supplement, and share adapted version(s) of the book are requested to join the project update conversation on the Rebus Foundation website at https://www.rebus.community/c/open-textbooks-in-development/update-aerodynamics-aircraft-performance.

License: CC BY 4.0

IN THE NEWS

Open@VT (August 9, 2021) Announcing Open Textbook: Aerodynamics and Aircraft Performance

Mary Leigh Wolfe and Jactone Ogejo - Introduction to Biosystems Engineering (2021)

 Introduction to Biosystems Engineering (2021) is published jointly by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) and Virginia Tech Publishing. It is edited by Nicolas M. Holden, Mary Leigh Wolfe, Jactone A. Ogejo, and End J. Cummins of Virginia Tech and University College Dublin (Ireland) and has an international authorship. It is the first Virginia Tech publication of the Open Education Network Publishing Cooperative. The book is a 23-chapter, 570-page open textbook targeted at 1st and 2nd year university-level students with an interest in biosystems engineering but who are not yet familiar with the breadth and depth of the subject. It is designed as a coherent educational resource, also available for download as individual digital chapters. The book can be used as a localized, customizable text for introductory courses in Biosystems Engineering globally. It is written as a series of stand-alone chapters organized under six major topics: Food and Bioprocessing; Environment; Buildings and Infrastructure; Information and Communications Technology and Data; Machinery Systems; and Energy. Each chapter is organized around stated learning outcomes and describes key concepts, applications of the concepts, and worked examples. The discipline of Biosystems Engineering emerged in the 1990s from the traditional strongholds of agricultural engineering and food engineering. Biosystems engineering integrates engineering science and design with applied biological, environmental, and agricultural sciences. 

Ancillaries: The Biosystems Engineering Digital Library (BEDL)— will provide more teaching and learning materials for instructors to use in the classroom.

View the Chapter-level and WebPDFs  | Order a print copy | | If you are an instructor reviewing, adopting or adapting this book, or if you have comments or suggestions please complete the form at https://bit.ly/IBSE_feedback to submit feedback

License: CC BY 4.0

IN THE NEWS

Virginia Tech Daily News (February 8, 2021) Virginia Tech Publishing partners with international association to publish engineering open textbook

John (Morgan) Russell - Significant Statistics (2021) - BETA VERSION

 Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics (BETA VERSION) is intended for the one-semester college level introduction to statistics course for students who are not mathematics or engineering majors. The text was deeply adapted from content published in three other open textbooks published by OpenStax: Introductory Statistics, and OpenIntro:OpenIntro Statistics, and Introductory Statistics for the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Original content was added by John Morgan Russell. The open textbook focuses on the interpretation of statistical results, especially in real world settings, and assumes that students have an understanding of intermediate algebra. Examples of each topic are explained step-by-step throughout the text and followed by a 'Your Turn' problem that is designed as extra practice for students. Each chapter also includes end of section practice and homework sets and glossary terms.

View the online version on Pressbooks |  NOTE: This is a BETA VERSION. This book is changing! It is currently under internal and departmental peer review. It is also undergoing its third round of classroom field testing. 

Ancillaries: Significant Statistics website  |  Significant Statistics YouTube Channel  |  Significant Statistics Podcast Channel

Interested? Sign up here https://bit.ly/stat-interest to be notified of a more final / formal release of this book in summer 2021.

License: CC BY SA 4.0

Ron Poff - Fundamentals of Business, 3rd edition (2020)

Fundamentals of Business third edition adapted by Stephen Skripak with Ron Poff. Published by Pamplin College of Business in association with Virginia Tech Publishing. Licensed with a Creative Commons NonCommercial ShareAlike 4.0 license. Fundamentals of Business, third edition (2020) is adapted by Ron Poff from Stephen Skripak's 1st and 2nd edition adaptations of an existing open textbook. The third edition is an 370-page open education resource intended to serve as a no-cost, faculty customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. It covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, and personal finances. The textbook was adapted for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business. A detailed list of changes made between the 2nd and 3rd edition are available at the end of the book.

View the Pressbooks version  |  access the PDF, ePub, ODT | and view print on demand options in color and black & white. Other resources such as slides and a testbank are also available in the resource sharing portal / user groupIf you are an instructor reviewing, adopting, or adapting this textbook, please help us understand your use by filling out this form http://bit.ly/business-interest.

License: CC BY NC SA 4.0

IN THE NEWS

Press release at Open@VA (January 6, 2021): Announcing open textbook Fundamentals of Business, third edition

Reed Kennedy - Strategic Management (2020)

 SCover of Strategic Managment, adapted by Reed Kennedy with Eli Jamison, Joseph Simpson, Pankaj Jumar, Aynda Kemp, Kiran Awate, and Kathleen Manningtrategic Management (2020) adapted by Reed Kennedy, with Eli Jamison, Joseph Simpson, Pankaj Kumar, Ayenda Kemp, Kiran Awate, and Kathleen Manning is a 325-page open educational resource designed as an introduction to the key topics and themes of strategic management. The open textbook is intended for a senior capstone course in an undergraduate business program and suitable for a wide range of undergraduate business students including those majoring in marketing, management, business administration, accounting, finance, real estate, business information technology, and hospitality and tourism. The text presents examples of familiar companies and personalities to illustrate the different strategies used by today’s firms and how they go about implementing those strategies. It includes case studies, end of section key takeaways, exercises, and links to external videos, and an end-of-book glossary. The text is ideal for courses which focus on how organizations operate at the strategic level to be successful. Students will learn how to conduct case analyses, measure organizational performance, and conduct external and internal analyses.

View the Pressbooks versionaccess the PDF, ePub, ODT | and view print on demand options in color and black & white. Slides and an instructor-only test bank are also available. If you are an instructor reviewing, adopting, or adapting this textbook, please help us understand your use by filling out this form http://bit.ly/strategy-interest

License: CC BY NC SA 3.0 

IN THE NEWS

Press release at Open@VA (Sept 15, 2020): Announcing open textbook Strategic Management 

Pamplin College of Business (October 19, 2020) Open-sourcing learning resources in Management and Virginia Tech Daily (October 27, 2020) Open-sourcing learning resources in Management Department

Jessica Taylor - Voices of Virginia: An Auditory Primary Source Reader (2020)

Voices of Virginia: An Auditory Primary Source Reader  by Jessica Taylor with Emily Stewart

Voices of Virginia pulls together oral histories from across decades and archives in an all-audio source companion for Virginia’s high school and college students. The complete "album" contains dozens of short oral histories from eyewitnesses to key moments in American history from the Civil War to the present. Excerpts are downloadable, accessible by smartphone, and accompanied by a transcript. You’ll also find brief historical context adapted from experts at Encyclopedia Virginia and American Yawp, and classroom tools like discussion questions, activities, and lesson plans that fit Virginia high school standards. By telling the larger national story with narratives from across the Commonwealth, Voices of Virginia grounds students in how history guides and is guided by everyday people.  Listen online  or  download the 150+ page Reader (detailed table of contents, transcripts, questions and lesson plans), and audio clips.

   Table of Contents for Voices of Virginia   sample transcript, questions, context and questions

(License: CC BY NC SA

IN THE NEWS

Virginia Tech Daily (July 2, 2020) Voices of Virginia tells Virginia's story for all to hear.

Winner of the 2020 Oral History Association's Mason Multi-Media award.

Michael Nappier - The Normal Canine Video Series. The Virtual Reality Dog (2016- ), Cow (2019- ), and Horse (2020- )

Virtual Reality Dog 1.0 and Cow 0.1 (Grantees: Michael Nappier, DVM and Thomas Tucker, MFA)

Virtual reality brings dog's anatomy to life for veterinary students (news & video from October 2018) 

VR dog (2018) and cow (2019) anatomy models for Veterinary Medicine. A collaboration between the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, School of Visual Arts, and University Libraries at Virginia Tech.

Image dog skeleton and internal organs on laptop computer screen              Veterinary student uses virtual reality to explore virtual dog      

Normal Canine Video Series

Read more about the project and the grant funds that supported it here.

                         

Steven Ellingson - Electromagnetics (2016- )

Electromagnetics, Volume 1 BetaVolume 1 and Volume 2 (CC BY SA 4.0) by Steven W. Ellingson  (project homepage) 

January 2018  |   August  2018  |  January 2020

Cover of Electromagnetics Volume 1 beta (This title has been superseded)             Cover of Electromagnetics Volume 2

Electromagnetics Volume 1 (2018) by Steven W. Ellingson is a 225 page, freely available, peer-reviewed, full color, print and digital open educational resource. It is intended to serve as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics within the third year of a bachelor of science degree program.
The book is the work of Steven W. Ellingson, Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Tech, in collaboration with the Scholarly Communication office of Virginia Tech’s University Libraries and VT Publishing. As collaborators with Ellingson, the University Libraries provided grant funding, overall project management, guidance on open licensing, attribution, student works, formats and styles, managed development and production processes, coordinated peer review, reviewed manuscripts (editorial and technical), provided technical specifications, and navigated print and distribution solutions. Published: August 2018
  • Volume 1: ISBN 978-0-9979201-8-5 (print)
  • Volume 1: ISBN 978-0-9979201-9-2 (PDF

Electromagnetics, Volume 2 (January 2020) by Steven W. Ellingson is a ~216-page, peer-reviewed open educational resource intended for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended to follow Electromagnetics Vol 1 as the primary textbook for the second-semester of a two-semester undergraduate engineering electromagnetics sequence. The book addresses magnetic force and the Biot-Savart law; fields in general and lossy media; AC current flow and skin depth; reflection and transmission at planar boundaries; fields in parallel plate, parallel wire, and microstrip transmission lines; optical fiber; radiation from current distributions, and antennas. Published: January 2020.

  • Volume 2: ISBN 978-1-949373-91-2 (print)
  • Volume 2: ISBN 978-1-949373-92-9 (PDF)

Print on demand: beta version | Volume 1 | Volume 2

Cover credits: Robert Browder | Cover image: (c) Michelle Yost. Total Internal Reflection is licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 license (cropped and/or color edited by Robert Browder)

News

Stephen Skripak - Adapter of Fundamentals of Business (2015-16) and 2018

Fundamentals of Business, 2nd edition (2018) was released in August 2018. It features multiple formats: PDF, Pressbooks, html, ePub (mobile), Mobi (Kindle), Print on Demand, and XML and ODF formats on request.  Instructors reviewing, selecting, or adapting the text are encouraged to register their use here. Visit this page for more information and links to the various formats. 

Cover of Fundamentals of Business, 1st edition

2018, 2019, 2020 & 2021 GRANTEES

Pulmonary Physiology for Pre-Clinical Students - June 2022

by Andrew Binks

 

Pulmonary Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students - June 2022

by Andrew Binks

 

Fish, Fishing, and Conservation - forthcoming June 2023

by Don Orth

 

Holistic Green Real Estate Management - forthcoming 2023

by Erin Hopkins

 

Elementary Linear Algebra: A Linear Combination Approach forthcoming

by Jason Wilson, Mathematics