Pharmacology: Databases & Websites

Drug monographs and patient handouts.

Authoritative information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens.

Critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs.

Drug identification, interactions, comparisons, I.V. compatibility, formulary, calculators, and Care Notes (patient handouts).

Covers nearly 20 topics and details FDA clinical trials, new drug approvals, sales suspensions and drug therapy advances. From American Pharmacists Association.

National professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other health care systems with a long history of improving medication use and enhancing patient safety.

Registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.

Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this website provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels.

NLM’s drug database, providing information for 24,251 drugs.

Database includes information on diseases, drugs, and drug interactions. Free resource, but you must register first to create a login to utilize all features of the website.

US Food and Drug Administration

Consumer prescription and over-the-counter medication information from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.

A Pill Identifier website.

The mission of the Poison Center is to prevent poisonings, save lives, and limit injury from poisoning. In addition to saving lives, the Center decreases health care costs of poisoning cases.

A free drug search tool.

Toxicology Data Network provided by National Library of Medicine. Here you will find databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Sign up for free information on drug updates.