Research Impact & Intelligence: Industry and Market Intelligence

A guide to our services in research intelligence and resources to learn more.

Connie Stovall

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

540-231-4802

Industry and Market Research Resources

EIU Viewpoint
EIU prohibits the direct use of its data for training large language models or generative AI systems. Users must not ingest the Licensed Products in any third party AI Tool.

EIU Viewpoint integrates the EIU’s forecasts for the global economy, daily insights, extensive country economic and political analysis, medium-term forecasts for 200 markets, long-term economic projections, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macroeconomic datasets and proprietary ratings and rankings.
Factiva
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business information. From the Search tab, use the Free Text search box to explore an archive of over 50 years of news and other sources.

From the News Pages tab, you can browse current issues of major newspapers and business magazines from around the world.

From the Companies/Markets tab, you can research competitors, suppliers, customers, and partners through market data, interactive charts, financial statements, and more for individual companies or industries. Data includes current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments like stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes.
GlobalData Explorer
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing actionable intelligence spanning 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer includes cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders and job analytics.
MarketLine data is included in GlobalData Explorer
MarketResearch.com
MarketResearch.com provides market intelligence reports on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.
Mergent Online
Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statements.
Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly ReferenceUSA, provides reports on business, jobs, and consumers in the US. It incorporates directory information for 14 million businesses, including private companies, nonprofit organizations, and some government offices. It also includes information on closed businesses.
Statista
Statista combines market research and analysis, content and information design, ecommerce, global consumer surveys, and digital and consumer market outlooks, consolidating statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.

OECD.Stat OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
SBIR/STTR The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs are highly competitive programs that encourage domestic small businesses to engage in Federal Research/Research and Development (R/R&D) with the potential for commercialization.
WorldBank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data analysis application designed for non-technical as well as advanced users to create interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. There are thousands of data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.

VT users are not required to log-in with a user name and password--simply click "Sign in as a guest". However, your work will not be saved unless you create an account.

Datasets

Census Reporter Independently packaged US Census data.
Data USA US government data to inform decision making among executives, policymakers, and citizens.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System Postsecondary data including : Institutional characteristics; enrollment; completions; graduation rates and outcomes; admissions; student financial aid; human resources; finance; and academic libraries.
NSF Higher Education Research and Development (HERD) This series provides current and historical trends on the amounts and types of research and development activities at U.S. colleges and universities. Beginning with 2010, data are collected using the Higher Education R&D (HERD) Survey, successor to the Survey of R&D Expenditures at Universities and Colleges.
Sam.Gov The System for Award Management (SAM.gov) is an official website of the U.S. Government. Search for assistance listings (formerly CFDA.gov), wage determinations (formerly WDOL.gov), contract opportunities (formerly FBO.gov), and contract data reports (formerly part of FPDS.gov). Access publicly available award data via data extracts and system accounts.
USA Spending.Gov USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government.