Research Impact & Intelligence: Research Intelligence

A guide to our services in research intelligence and resources to learn more.

Contact: researchintel@vt.edu

Guide list

Related Guides

Research Impact Metrics
by Rachel Miles Last Updated Jan 12, 2024 1518 views this year
Scholarly Profiles and Identifiers
by Rachel Miles Last Updated Sep 10, 2024 2951 views this year
Elements at Virginia Tech
by Rachel Miles Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 4562 views this year
Tell Your Story - Impact & Engagement
by Rachel Miles Last Updated Nov 9, 2023 541 views this year
Open Access
by Philip Young Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 1062 views this year
Open Access Policy at Virginia Tech
by Ginny Pannabecker Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 1160 views this year

Research Intelligence Resources

Bibliographic Research Analytic Tools

SciVal
SciVal provides metrics based on publications by country, institution, department, or author. You can compare any of these groups, find collaborators based on similar publications, and identify trends in the metrics. Use your vt.edu email address to register for an account.
InCites from Web of Science
InCites is a customized, citation-based research analytics tool that enables you to evaluate institutional productivity and benchmark your output. Requires registration using your VT email address.
Dimensions Plus
Dimensions Plus indexes more than 100 million publications, ranging from articles published in scholarly journals, books and book chapters, to preprints and conference proceedings. Dimensions Plus is an extensive and fully interlinked database with publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets and policy documents. 1600s to present.

Lens.org
The Lens at its core is an aggregator of metadata, combining three unique content sets and one management tool as a base offering to include scholarly works, patents, patent biological sequences, and a collections tool.

Altmetrics Analytic Tools

Altmetric Explorer for Institutions
Altmetric Explorer for Institutions is an intuitive, web-based platform that enables users to search, monitor, and measure altmetrics: mentions and conversations surrounding the research outputs of specific authors, research groups, departments, and institutions.
In today’s digital environment research is often shared and discussed immediately upon online publication -- among other scholars, and by journalists, clinicians, educators, policy-makers, and more. Long before citations start to accrue, research outputs may appear in curricula, influence municipal or legislative decisions, lead to changes in technology or practice, or affect public opinion. Altmetric data provides evidence of these research impacts, and can support individuals and institutions in a number of key areas, such as: helping to inform decisions around where to publish and with whom to collaborate; assisting in research evaluation; bolstering communications and outreach efforts; and uncovering timely conversations to help predict the direction of research itself.

Altmetric Bookmarklet
Want to find out the Altmetric details for a research article or other output? Install the free bookmarklet for Chrome, Firefox and Safari to view the online shares and mentions of an article with a single click.

Grant Databases & Tools

Funding Institutional from Elsevier
Funding Institutional allows researchers to search for grant opportunities and provides historical data about awards and related publications. This data can be used to select opportunities that are the best fit and tailor proposals based on past success. Additionally, users can track award trends, find potential collaborators, and improve their understanding of the competitive landscape. Searches can be narrowed down by location, special interest (limited submission, amount greater than $1M, deadline within three months, multidisciplinary, or foundation or private sponsor) and/or by subject area. It includes information on more than 11,000 funding bodies and more than 24,000 active opportunities. Use your vt.edu email address to register for an account.
This database is provided by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.
Foundation Directory Online
Search for information about over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, or for information about nearly half a million grants. Parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free, online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations. 2001-present.
Unique funder portfolios organize additional funder-specific content in one convenient location and include: grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs); grantmaker-sponsored publications; and officer and trustee affiliations.

Foundation Directory Online Professional also provides exclusive funder-specific functionality: the ability to search across a funder's grants with customized search indexes; the ability to map a funder's grants for any given year by recipient type or primary subject and drill down to view disbursements by county, city, ZIP code, or congressional district; the ability to chart a funder's grants for any given year by recipient type or primary subject and drill down to view disbursements by secondary and tertiary category; the ability to sign up to receive funder-specific email alerts; and the ability to search across all four Foundation Directory Online databases as well as the Foundation Center's philanthropy news, nonprofit jobs, RFPs, foundation publications, and nonprofit literature databases simultaneously.

Its parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free,online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations.