Economics: Data Sources

FRED provides access, graphing, tracking, and downloading of U.S. and international time series data from 68 U.S. and International sources.

A data analysis and extraction website to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. You can develop maps, an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets that are as versatile and complex as your usage demands then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application designed for non-technical as well as advance users to create thematic maps and reports using a variety of demographic, business, and marketing data. There are more 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.

Video overviews of the content and functionalities of EIU products that the Tech library subscribes to. EIU reports combine country and regional forecasts, analysis, and aggregate data for ~200 "geographies":

• EIU Viewpoint, 2021- : How to find everything you need
• EIU Country Reports, 1996-2021, archives on a different platform (eiu.com...) from Viewpoint's.

Provides U.S. data on inflation & prices, pay & benefits, employment/unemployment, productivity, spending & time use, workplace injuries, international labor comparisons, and import/export price indexes.

Interactive Data tab provides U.S. national, international, regional, industry, and integrated accounts data. Specific topics covered include: Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Consumer Spending, Corporate Profits, Fixed Assets, Research and Development Satellite Accounts, Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods and Services, International Services, International Investment, Direct Investment and Multinational Companies, Local/regional GDP and Personal Income, RIMS II Multipliers, Quarterly GDP by Industry, GDP/Benchmark Industry & Input-Output Accounts, R&D Satellite Accounts, Travel and Tourism Satellite Accounts, Integrated Income, Product, and Federal Reserve Financial Accounts, Integrated BEA GDP-BLS Productivity Accounts, and Integrated BEA/BLS Industry-Level Production Account.

International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Data is organized by: External Sector, Fiscal Sector, Financial Sector, Real Sector, and Cross-domain. Direct links to Balance of Payments, Monetary and Financial Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics.

Wharton Research Data Service provides business data. It includes stock exchange (market-wide and company specific), balance sheet (company specific), income statement (company specific), bank, and macro economic information. Data on bonds, bills, inflation, stock and currency options (PHLX) is also included. WRDS provides access to S&P Capital IQ, CRSP, NYSE, Thomson Reuters, Bureau van Dijk, Global Insight, OptionMetrics and other important business research databases. To use WRDS, you must first submit an account request at: https://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/?register=1 (NOTE: Bankscope is not longer available from WRDS.)

Decommissioned. Was available only through January 31, 2017. Disseminated key indicators of geographic and demographic outreach of financial services, as well as the underlying data. Supports policymakers and researchers by strengthening their understanding of the determinants and implications of financial access and usage. Helps identify knowledge gaps and appropriate policies for broadening financial access and enables the authorities to monitor the effectiveness of policies over time. 2004-present.

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS)

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

The Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities. These 'microdata' sets may also originate from population, housing or agricultural censuses or through an administrative data collection processes. The Library contains supporting documentation from censuses and surveys conducted or supported by the World Bank, as well as by other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries.

ICPSR provides both census microdata and aggregate data acquired from the Census Bureau. Microdata is the individual responses to census questions while aggregate data contains tabulations of the individual responses at various levels, such as states, counties, and census tracts. 1940s-present. (2000 Census is most recent available.)

The Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American history.

RAND State Statistics indexes data from all 50 states of the USA (some down to the city or county level) in areas of business and economics, quality of life, education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomics, and population and demographics. Data can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats.

UNdata indexes data and statistics compiled by United Nations divisions, including official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Data can be downloaded in statistical software formats.

It stores standardised official annual trade statistics reported by countries and reflects international merchandise flows detailed by commodity and partner country with coverage reaching up to 99 percent of world merchandise trade.

[Currently Offline] VaStat provides statistics, data sets, and reports on all aspects of life in Virginia. Detailed profiles of counties and cities are provided. Employment and income statistics by area, taxation figures by local governments, population and demographics, industry profiles, and other economic drivers are all detailed in report and data sets.

a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release.

More data sources here: https://www.ipums.org

Find data here: http://www.worldvaluessurvey.org/WVSOnline.jsp