Human nutrition, foods, and exercise: HNFE at Virginia Tech

In this library guide, you will find some resources that will help you get started on your projects for Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise.  The resources here are quite general, so if you have a specific question, please don't hesitate to reach out.

HNFE Librarian

Top Research Databases to Get You Started

We have 1,000+ databases here at the library, and here are the top three I think you should start with.  If you click the "Recommended Resources" tab, you will find additional databases to help you with whatever projects you are completing in HNFE. 

 

Top Recommended Research Databases for HNFE! 

  • PubMed: PubMed can be intimidating, but it is a great place for finding published research for biomedical, health and life science. PubMed is the official database of the National Library of Medicine, and it contains citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conferences, clinical trial reports, and more.  You can limit to types of studies (animal or human studies), types of research (original, secondary, etc).
  • Health Source:  Nursing / Academic Edition from EBSCOhost: Health Source (EBSCO): This is a great database if you find PubMed a little too intense, and it's a great place to start your search to learn more about what research is out there on your topic or project.  EBSCOhost has a user-friendly interface, and it's easy to learn.
  • Web of Science and CINHAL (tied!): Web of Science has great tools to find information about the topic or project that you are searching for, and the extensive citation reports make Web of Science invaluable for health researchers.  If Web of Science is too complete for you, CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) may be another good resource for you.  It contains citations, abstracts and full-text journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare. 
Which database do you use most often for your courses in HNFE?
PubMed: 5 votes (83.33%)
Web of Science: 0 votes (0%)
Scopus: 0 votes (0%)
CINHAL: 1 votes (16.67%)
Other: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 6

Quick Links to HNFE LibGuides