Human nutrition, foods, and exercise: Recommended Resources

In this library guide, you will find some resources that will help you get started on your projects for Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise.  The resources here are quite general, so if you have a specific question, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Selecting a Database

Virginia Tech's University Libraries gives you access to nearly 750 databases.  How do you know where to start?  

Check out the HNFE Subject Guide.  It will point you to the best databases for Human Nutrition, Food, & Exercise research at VT.  For introductory research, I recommend VT's Discovery Search and a few disciplinary databases:  PubMed, CINAHL, or Web of Science. If your question is agriculture-related, I would also suggest CAB Direct. Still not sure about which database(s) are best for your research? Try browsing a few subject guides, or look through the full research database list

Need help searching any of these databases?  Click here for Discovery Search Help | PubMed Help | Web of Science Help 

HNFE Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

  • not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
  • owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
  • owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.

General Health Resources

​Here are some great additional resources for your HNFE projects. 

General Health

 

  • PubMed from Medline:  Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

 

  • Web of Science: The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present

 

  • Health Source (Consumer and Nursing / Academic) from EBSCOhost: Consumer Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from consumer health magazines, books, academic journals, pamphlets, reference works (including the full text of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF.

 

  • Health and Medicine from ProQuest: This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple health and medical databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.

 

  • CINAHL: CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.

 

  • PsycINFO: PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.

Nutrition

  1. eNCPT -- The Nutrition Terminology Reference Manual provides full text information on the nutrition care process.
  2. ADA Nutrition Care Manual -- The Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Browse by section - Risk Screen, Diseases, Nutrition Care, Calculators, Formulary, Client Education, Meal Plans, Resources, ADA Catalog - or search by keyword. The sections are organized to lead to specific information related to a topic and are often more useful than the search option.
  3. CAB Abstracts -- CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
  4. FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts -- Food Science and Technology Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, legislation, patents, reports, and theses and dissertations on the medical and biological aspects of food and nutrition. Full text is available as HTML and PDF. Coverage includes human and pet foods. 1969-present.
  5. HEARTH -- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History -- HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in home economics and related disciplines. Content is full-text searchable and page-by-page viewable (as GIF, TIFF, PDF, and text). 1817-1997.

Exercise Science and Kinesiology

  1. Sports Nutrition Care Manual -- The Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM) is a publication of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Browse by section - Risk Screen, Diseases, Nutrition Care, Calculators, Formulary, Client Education, Meal Plans, Resources, ADA Catalog - or search by keyword. The sections are organized to lead to specific information related to a topic and are often more useful than the search option.
  2. Physical Education Index --  Physical Education Index indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, and patents in the fields of education, medicine and life sciences, and business. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.