- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Industrial Design
- Recommended Resources
Industrial Design: Recommended Resources
This Research Guide supports the Industrial Design program at Virginia Tech which address the interaction of people with objects and their environment addressing the cultural, technological, business, ergonomic, ecological, and social factors that lead to more useful and meaningful products and services.
Below is a list of library databases that can aid in industrial design research. An exhaustive list of library databases can be found here.
- Art Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is an index of over a half-century of historic scholarly literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art. It is the electronic version of the print annual publication Art Index from its first volume, 1929, through 1984. It consists of citations of over 25,000 book reviews and high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed for the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. - Compendex from Engineering VillageCompendex is a bibliographic database that indexes engineering literature, including scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, standards, and some patents. It was originally established as a print publication in 1884 and has since evolved into a digital repository.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuestDAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
- Ergonomics Abstracts from EBSCOhostErgonomics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, and reference works that cover the health and engineering aspects of ergonomics. 1985-present.
100A Cowgill Hall
sarahstanley@vt.edu
Need more help?
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.