- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Interior Design
- Additional Resources
Interior Design: Additional Resources
Interior design builds competencies in fundamental design, materials, finishes, lighting, computer-aided design, historical interiors, professional practice, interior construction, space planning, programming, and communication skills.
Illuminating Engineering Society Lighting Library
The Lighting Library™ is the complete set of IES Standards, newly formulated into five online collections, that updates, expands, and replaces The Lighting Handbook, 10th edition (2010), and previous versions of our standards.
To access the Lighting Library contact cathryn@vt.edu for login information.
Material Resources
- Building GreenBuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.
- Material ConneXionMaterial ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.
- Material Order SEARCHShared online materials catalog that allows users to search the material collections of the Harvard University Gradate School of Design (GSD), Parsons School of Design, and the Rhode Island School of Design (RSID).
.